Absa Premiership

Top PSL goalscorers in the past 10 seasons

2018-06-01 21:32
Percy Tau and Pitso Mosimane (Gallo)

Cape Town - There's been much debate regarding the Absa Premiership Top Goalscorer award, especially at the end of the 2017/18 season.

Rodney Ramagalela and Percy Tau both scored 11 goals for season, seeing them end the season as joint-top scorers on Tuesday evening at the annual PSL Awards.

However, former Kaizer Chiefs striker Mike Mangena believes a player should not receive a top goalscorer award for 11 goals.

He also says that the PSL should change the number of goals a player must score in order to claim the award.

"Maybe you should say this award is for those that reach this number of goals. Do you hear what I'm saying? Eleven goals, the whole year? Something is wrong here and I don't know, please," Mangena said.

Meanwhile, Bernard Parker is of the opinion that attacking midfielders are to be blamed for strikers scoring less each season.

“They (midfielders) are the most influential footballers at the moment. They are the ones who make things happen and feed strikers, and they are the ones who decide games," said Parker.

During the 2004/05 campaign, Collins Mbesuma racked in 25 goals for Amakhosi which still remains the most goals scored in a PSL season.

In 2013/14 campaign, Parker managed to score 10-goals, the fewest a player has ever scored and won the top goalscorer award.

While the debate continues, here is a list of the top goalscorers in the last 10 seasons in the Absa Premiership.

Top Goalscorers in the last 10 PSL Seasons:

2009/10 - Katlego Mphela (Mamelodi Sundowns) - 17

2011/12 - Siyabonga Nomvethe (Moroka Swallows) -20

2010/11 - Knowledge Musona (Kaizer Chiefs) - 15

2011/12 - Siyabonga Nomvethe (Moroka Swallows) - 19

2012/13 - Bernard Parker (Kaizer Chiefs) - 12

2013/14 - Bernard Parker (Kaizer Chiefs) - 10

2014/15 - Moeketsi Sekola (Free State Stars) - 14

2015/16 - Collins Mbesuma (Mpumalanga Black Aces) - 14

2016/17 - Lebogang Manyama (Cape Town City) - 13

2017/18 - Rodney Ramagalela (Polokwane City) and Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns) - 11

Read more on:    psl awards  |  psl  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Tuesday, 27 November 2018
Maritzburg United v Chippa United, Harry Gwala Stadium 19:30
Highlands Park v AmaZulu, Makhulong Stadium 19:30
Polokwane City v Cape Town City, Old Peter Mokaba Stadium 19:30
Wednesday, 28 November 2018
Bloemfontein Celtic v SuperSport United, Dr Molemela Stadium 19:30
Black Leopards v Mamelodi Sundowns, Thohoyandou Stadium 19:30
Friday, 30 November 2018
Chippa United v AmaZulu, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 20:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

After slow starts to their respective 2018/19 Absa Premiership campaigns, who will finish the season ranked higher?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.