Absa Premiership

Tau named Footballer of the Season at PSL awards

2018-05-29 22:23
Percy Tau and Pitso Mosimane (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Mamelodi Sundowns striker, Percy Tau, was the big winner at the 2017/18 Premier Soccer League (PSL) award ceremony on Tuesday evening. 

Tau, who was influential in helping Sundowns regain the Absa Premiership title, won both the Footballer of the Season and the Absa Premiership Player's Player of the Season, banking R450 000 in the process.

Tau also walked away with another R25 000 for being named joint top goalscorer in the league along with Rodney Ramagalela of Polokwane City. 

Sundowns coach Pitso Mosimane won the hotly contested Coach of the Season category, ensuring Masandawana walked away with all the top awards on the night.

2017/18 PSL Award winners:

Footballer of the Season  Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns)  

Absa Premiership Player's Player of the Season: Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns)  

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season - Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)  

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs) 

Absa Premiership Defender of the Season: Siyanda Xulu (Maritzburg United)  

Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season: Siphesihle Ndlovu (Maritzburg United)  

Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season : Siphesihle Ndlovu (Maritzburg United)  

Absa-lutely Awesome Goal of the Season: Siphelele Magubane - Polokwane City vs Golden Arrows 

Absa Premiership Top Goalscorer of the Season (11 goals) - Rodney Ramagalela (Polokwane City) and Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns) 

MTN8 Last Man Standing - Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United) 

Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament - Amr Gamal (Bidvest Wits) 

Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player of the Season - Lebohang Maboe (Maritzburg United 

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament Lebohang Maboe  - (Maritzburg United) 

National First Division Top Goalscorer (15 goals) - Mwape Musonda (Black Leopards) and Peter Shalulile (Highlands Park) 

MultiChoice Diski Challenge Most Precious Find: Siboniso Conco (Golden Arrows) 

MultiChoice Diski Shield Player of the Tournament: Itumeleng Shopane (Kaizer Chiefs)


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Tuesday, 26 November 2019
Mamelodi Sundowns v AmaZulu, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 19:30
Highlands Park v Wits, Makhulong Stadium 19:30
Orlando Pirates v Polokwane City, Orlando Stadium 19:30
Wednesday, 27 November 2019
Stellenbosch v Kaizer Chiefs, Cape Town Stadium 19:30
Bloemfontein Celtic v Cape Town City, Dr Molemela Stadium 19:30
Maritzburg United v SuperSport United, Harry Gwala Stadium 19:30
Chippa United v Black Leopards, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 19:30
Baroka FC v Golden Arrows, Peter Mokaba Stadium 19:30
Saturday, 30 November 2019
Polokwane City v Bloemfontein Celtic, Old Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:30
Cape Town City v Highlands Park, Cape Town Stadium 18:00
Black Leopards v Golden Arrows, Thohoyandou Stadium 18:00
SuperSport United v Stellenbosch, Lucas Moripe Stadium 20:15
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 Absa Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.