Scrappy win sees Lions end tour unbeaten

    2017-05-12 13:26

    Garrin Lambley - Sport24 Editor

    Cape Town - The Lions finished their three-match tour of Australia unbeaten after victory over the Brumbies in Canberra on Friday.

    As it happened: Brumbies v Lions

    The Lions won 13-6 after trailling 3-0 at half-time.

    The Lions, who had previously beaten the Force and Rebels while Down Under, scored the only try of the match through a superb solo effort by livewire flank Kwagga Smith. Flyhalf Elton Jantjies added the conversion as well as a penalty, while fullback Andries Coetzee added a late penalty as well.

    The Brumbies replied with two penalties by pivot Wharenui Hawera.

    Honest Lions fans will admit their team have a lot of work to do should they wish to replicate their spot in last year's final - or go one step further and lift the trophy.

    For large parts of the match the Brumbies dominated territory and possession and the Lions were forced into a series of key turnovers in order to retain their lead.

    It was only at scrum time that Lions coach Johan Ackermann will feel any degree of satisfaction.

    The Lions picked up four points for the victory and drew level with the Crusaders at the top on the Overall log, but remain second on points difference having also played one extra match.

    The Brumbies picked up a single point for losing by seven or fewer points, and stretched their lead atop the Australian Conference to five points ahead of the Waratahs.

    In next weekend's Round 13 action, the Lions welcome the Bulls to Ellis Park (Saturday, May 20 at 17:15), while the Brumbies will also make their way to South Africa to face the Kings in Port Elizabeth immediately thereafter (kick-off at 19:30).



    Penalties: Wharenui Hawera (2)


    Try: Kwagga Smith

    Conversion: Elton Jantjies

    Penalties: Jantjies, Andries Coetzee



    15 Aidan Toua, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Kyle Godwin, 11 James Dargaville, 10 Wharenui Hawera, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Jordan Smiler, 7 Jarrad Butler, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Sam Carter (captain), 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Josh Mann-Rea, 1 Ben Alexander

    Substitutes: 16 Robbie Abel, 17 Nic Mayhew, 18 Leslie Leulua’iali’i-Makin, 19 Blake Enever, 20 Ben Hyne, 21 De Wet Roos, 22 Jordan Jackson-Hope, 23 Tom Banks


    15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Sylvian Mahuza, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Warren Whiteley (captain), 7 Ruan Ackermann, 6 Kwagga Smith, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Johannes Jonker, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Corne Fourie

    Substitutes: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Jacques van Rooyen, 18 Ruan Dreyer, 19 Lourens Erasmus, 20 Robert Kruger, 21 Dillon Smit, 22 Jacques Nel, 23 Anthony Volmink

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    Friday, 23 March 2018
    • Crusaders v Bulls, Rugby League Park 08:35
    • Rebels v Sharks, Melbourne Rectangular Stadium 10:45
    Saturday, 24 March 2018
    • Sunwolves v Chiefs, Chichibunomiya Rugby Stadium 06:15
    • Hurricanes v Highlanders, Wellington Regional Stadium 08:35
    • Stormers v Reds, Newlands Stadium 17:15
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio 23 de Agosto 23:40
    Friday, 30 March 2018
    • Chiefs v Highlanders, Waikato Stadium 08:35
    • Rebels v Hurricanes, Melbourne Rectangular Stadium 10:45


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Who will finish top of the SA Conference in this year's Super Rugby tournament?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.