Blitzboks handed easy London Sevens draw

2018-05-08 15:51
Neil Powell (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The South African Sevens side were handed a straight-forward draw for next month's HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series tournament in London.

The Blitzboks, who fell short of a podium position in Singapore, will face Samoa, Canada and Russia in Pool D.

If they make it into the Cup quarter-finals, they could meet either Fiji, New Zealand, Scotland or Argentina, all drawn in a highly competitive Pool A.

The Blitzboks are currently second on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series log after eight tournaments.

They trail Fiji by three points and will have all to play for as they aim to defend their series title.

Australia, Wales, Spain and Ireland will play in Pool B, with the latter being invited as 16th team. The hosts, England, will face Kenya, USA and France in another competitive pool.

The penultimate tournament of the World Rugby Series gets underway in London from June 2-3.

Pools for London Sevens:

Pool A: Fiji, New Zealand, Scotland and Argentina

Pool B: Australia, Wales, Spain and Ireland

Pool C: England, Kenya, USA and France

Pool D: South Africa, Samoa, Canada and Russia


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.