Rugby Championship

Breakdown of Bok Rugby Championship squad

2018-08-06 12:00
Siya Kolisi (Gallo Images)
Siya Kolisi (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Beaten 2018 Super Rugby finalists, the Lions, as well as the Stormers who struggled throughout the tournament, both have nine representatives in Rassie Erasmus' Rugby Championship squad.

READ: John Mitchell's Bulls exit a 'done deal'

The Lions, who topped the South African Conference, went down 37-18 after a brave performance in the final against the Crusaders in Christchurch on Saturday.

The Lions won nine of their 16 round robin matches, before beating the Jaguares and Waratahs in the quarter-finals and semi-finals at Ellis Park.

The Stormers had a season to forget, winning only six of their 16 matches, but boast nine players in the squad, including skipper Siya Kolisi and returning lock, Eben Etzebeth.

The Sharks, who snuck into the Super Rugby playoffs in eighth place before being thrashed by the Crusaders 40-10 in the quarter-finals, have eight Bok representatives.

The Bulls, who endured their worst ever Super 15 season, finishing as wooden-spoonists in the SA Conference after six wins from their 16 matches, have six players in the 35-man squad.

The remaining three players are all England-based - Faf de Klerk (Sale Sharks), Willie le Roux (Wasps) and Francois Louw (Bath).

The Springbok squad for the Rugby Championship (in alphabetical order - name and surname, franchise/club, Test caps and points):

Forwards (20)

Cyle Brink (Lions), Jean-Luc du Preez (Sharks), Thomas du Toit (Sharks), Pieter-Steph du Toit (Stormers), Eben Etzebeth (Stormers), Steven Kitshoff (Stormers), Siya Kolisi (captain - Stormers), Francois Louw (Bath, England), Wilco Louw (Stormers), Frans Malherbe (Stormers), Malcolm Marx (Lions), Bongi Mbonambi (Stormers), Franco Mostert (Lions), Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks), Sikhumbuzo Notshe (Stormers), Marvin Orie (Lions), RG Snyman (Bulls), Akker van der Merwe (Sharks), Marco van Staden (Bulls), Warren Whiteley (Lions)

Backs (15)

Lukhanyo Am (Sharks), Ross Cronjé (Lions), Faf de Klerk (Sale Sharks, England), Aphiwe Dyantyi (Lions), André Esterhuizen (Sharks), Elton Jantjies (Lions), Jesse Kriel (Bulls), Willie le Roux (Wasps, England), Makazole Mapimpi (Sharks), Lionel Mapoe (Lions), Lwazi Mvovo (Sharks), Embrose Papier (Bulls), Handré Pollard (Bulls), Ivan van Zyl (Bulls), Damian Willemse (Stormers)

Read more on:    springboks  |  rugby championship  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Did the Springboks' performance against the All Blacks in Wellington change your belief in who will win the Rugby World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.