Crusaders too good for Lions in Christchurch

    2018-08-04 11:20

    Cape Town - The Crusaders were crowned deserved 2018 Super Rugby champions when they beat the Lions in the final in Christchurch on Saturday.

    As it happened: Crusaders v Lions

    The Crusaders won 37-18 after leading 20-6 at half-time.

    The victory was an incredible ninth title for the champion New Zealand side in the tournament's 23-year history.

    For the Lions, who were brave throughout with their never-say-die attitude, it was a third consecutive final defeat.

    The Crusaders scored four tries through wing Seta Tamanivalu, fullback David Havili, replacement scrumhalf Mitchell Drummond and lock Scott Barrett. Man of the match flyhalf Richie Mo'unga, who sent a reminder to All Blacks coach Steve Hansen with a polished all-round performance, added all four conversions as well as three penalties for a personal haul of 17 points.

    The Lions replied with tries by impressive flank Cyle Brink and hooker Malcolm Marx. Flyhalf Elton Jantjies, who had a night to forget, added a conversion and a two penalties.

    To run salt into the Lions' wounds, the Crusaders' 4-2 try advantage saw the Crusaders overtake the Johannesburg side as this season's leading try-scoring team having entered the final a single five-pointer behind.

    The players will break for a fortnight before battle recommences in the Rugby Championship, starting on Saturday, August 18.

    Both the All Blacks and Springboks squads for the tournament will be named on Monday.



    15 David Havili, 14 Seta Tamanivalu, 13 Jack Goodhue, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 George Bridge, 10 Richie Mo'unga, 9 Bryn Hall, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Matt Todd, 6 Heiden Bedwell-Curtis, 5 Sam Whitelock (captain), 4 Scott Barrett, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Joe Moody

    Substitutes: 16 Andrew Makalio, 17 Tim Perry, 18 Michael Alaalatoa, 19 Luke Romano, 20 Pete Samu, 21 Mitchell Drummond, 22 Mitchell Hunt, 23 Braydon Ennor


    15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Ruan Combrink, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Warren Whiteley (captain), 7 Cyle Brink, 6 Kwagga Smith, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Marvin Orie, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Jacques van Rooyen

    Substitutes: 16 Corne Fourie, 17 Dylan Smith, 18 Johannes Jonker, 19 Lourens Erasmus, 20 Marnus Schoeman, 21 Dillon Smit, 22 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 23 Howard Mnisi

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Friday, 31 January 2020
    • Blues v Chiefs, Eden Park 08:05
    • Brumbies v Reds, GIO Stadium 10:15
    • Sharks v Bulls, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 19:10
    Saturday, 01 February 2020
    • Sunwolves v Rebels, Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium 05:45
    • Crusaders v Waratahs, Trafalgar Park 08:05
    • Stormers v Hurricanes, Cape Town 15:05
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 23:40
    Friday, 07 February 2020
    • Highlanders v Sharks, Forsyth Barr Stadium 08:05
    • Brumbies v Rebels, GIO Stadium 10:15


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Lions
    • Sharks
    • Stormers

    Opinion Poll

    How will the Springboks fare at this year's Rugby World Cup in Japan?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.