Manyonga in line for Male Athlete of the Year award

2018-10-23 12:24
Luvo Manyonga
Luvo Manyonga (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Long Jump champion Luvo Manyonga has been nominated for the IAAF Male World Athlete of the Year award.

On Tuesday, the IAAF confirmed a list of 10 nominees for Male World Athlete of the Year who were selected by an international panel of athletics experts, comprising representatives from all six continental areas of the IAAF.

READ: Semenya up for IAAF Female Athlete of the Year award

Manyonga retained his Diamond League title this season and took gold at the Commonwealth Games at Gold Coast.

The 27-year-old took silver at the IAAF World Indoor Championships behind Cuban's Juan Miguel Echevarria and took came runner-up at the African Championships in Nigeria as countryman Rushwal Samaai took gold.

Manyonga is also nominated for the Sportsman of the Year and the People's Choice of the Year at the South African Sports Awards, which is scheduled to take place in November.

The nominees for 2018 Male World Athlete of the Year are:

Timothy Cheruiyot (KEN)

Christian Coleman (USA)

Armand Duplantis (SWE)

Eliud Kipchoge (KEN)

Emmanuel Korir (KEN)

Noah Lyles (USA)

Luvo Manyonga (RSA)

Kevin Mayer (FRA)

Abderrahman Samba (QAT)

Tomas Walsh (NZL)

A three-way voting process will determine the finalists.

The IAAF Council and the IAAF Family will cast their votes by email, while fans can vote online via the IAAF's social media platforms. Individual graphics for each nominee will be posted on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram this week; a 'like' on Facebook and Instagram or a retweet on Twitter will count as one vote.

The IAAF Council's vote will count for 50 percent of the result, while the IAAF Family's votes and the public votes will each count for 25 percent of the final result.

Voting for the Female World Athlete of the Year closes on November 12 and for the Male Athlete of the Year closes on November 13. At the conclusion of the voting process, five men and five women finalists will be announced by the IAAF.

The 2018 IAAF Athletics Awards takes place in Monaco on Tuesday, December 4.


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

How much of a runner are you?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.