Cricket World Cup 2011

Only 10 teams for 2015 CWC

2011-04-04 17:44
Victorious Indian team (Gallo Images)

Mumbai - The International Cricket Council (ICC) has confirmed that the 2015 World Cup will be contested by 10 teams, with none of the ICC Associate nations being involved.

The decision, originally announced in October 2010, was ratified by the ICC's executive board meeting on Monday.

The 2011 tournament, which was won by co-host India, featured 14 teams and took 43 days to complete, prompting criticism that it was too long.

The 2015 edition will be co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand and will feature the ICC's 10 full member nations: Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Zimbabwe.


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Cricket World Cup 2011

The day Aussies went 'soft'?

2011-04-01 07:37

Newly appointed Michael Clarke seems to represent a seismic change to Australian cricket captaincy characteristics. Read More


Who would you like to see named as the next Proteas' coach?


Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.