Cricket World Cup 2011

India stutter to victory

2011-03-09 17:51
Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag (AFP)

New Delhi - India overcame mid-innings hiccups to beat the Netherlands by five wickets in a Group B match on Wednesday to maintain their unbeaten run in the World Cup.

Chasing 190, Sachin Tendulkar (27) and Virender Sehwag (39) provided a brisk start before India lost five wickets and it took Yuvraj Singh's mature 51 not out to steer them home in 36.3 overs.

Opting to bat first, the Netherlands had earlier put 189 runs on boards before losing all their wickets in 46.4 overs at the near-capacity Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium.

Eric Szwarczynski (28) and Wesley Barresi (26) provided a sedate 56-run opening stand and down the order, captain Peter Borren (38 off 36 balls) came up with a desperate knock to push the score but the 200-mark eventually eluded them.



Eric Szwarczynski b Chawla 28

Wesley Barresi lbw b Yuvraj 26

Tom Cooper c Dhoni b Nehra 29

Ryan ten Doeschate c Khan b Yuvraj 11

Alexei Kervezee c Harbhajan b Chawla 11

Bas Zuiderent lbw b Khan 0

Tom de Grooth run out 5

Peter Borren c Nehra b Khan 38

Bradley Kruger run out 8

Mudassar Bukhari b Khan 21

Pieter Seelaar not out 0

Extras: (6b, 3lb, 2w, 1nb) 12

TOTAL: (all out) 189

Overs: 46.4; Batting time: 191 minutes.

Fall of wickets: 1-56, 2-64, 3-99, 4-100, 5-101, 6-108, 7-127, 8-151, 9-189, 10-189.

Bowling: Zaheer Khan 6.4-0-20-3, Ashish Nehra 5-1-22-1, Yusuf Pathan 6-1-17-0, Harbhajan Singh 10-0-31-0 (2w), Piyush Chawla 10-0-47-2 (1nb), Yuvraj Singh 9-1-43-2.


Virender Sehwag c Kervezee b Seelaar 39

Sachin Tendulkar c Kruger b Seelaar 27

Yusuf Pathan c & b Seelaar 11

Gautam Gambhir b Bukhari 28

Virat Kohli b Borren 12

Yuvraj Singh not out 51

Mahendra Singh Dhoni not out 19

Extras: (4w) 4

TOTAL: (for five wickets) 191

Overs: 36.3; Batting time 160 minutes.

Fall of wickets: 1-69, 2-80, 3-82, 4-99, 5-139.

Did not bat: Harbhajan Singh, Piyush Chawla, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra.

Bowling: Mudassar Bukhari 6-1-33-1 (2w), Ryan ten Doeschate 7-0-38-0 (2w), Pieter Seelaar 10-1-53-3, Peter Borren 8-0-33-1, Tom Cooper 2-0-11-0, Bradley Kruger 3.3-0-23-0.

Result: India won by five wickets.
Toss: India.
Umpires: Steve Davis, Australia, and Bruce Oxenford, Australia.
TV umpire: Billy Doctrove, West Indies.
Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle, Sri Lanka.


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Cricket World Cup 2011

The day Aussies went 'soft'?

2011-04-01 07:37

Newly appointed Michael Clarke seems to represent a seismic change to Australian cricket captaincy characteristics. Read More


Who would you like to see named as the next Proteas' coach?


Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.