ICC World Twenty20

Proteas ask India to bat

2012-10-02 16:02
AB de Villiers (AP)

Colombo - South African captain AB de Villiers won the toss and decided to bowl against India in the last Super Eights group two match at Colombo's Premadasa stadium on Tuesday.

Live scorecard

India need to beat South Africa, who are already out of the contention for semi-finals, by a big margin to harbour any hopes of reaching the last four stage.

Earlier, Australia qualified for the semi-finals on better net run-rate despite losing their last Super Eights match against Pakistan by 32 runs.

Pakistan finished the Super Eights stage with two wins out of three, after losing to arch-rivals India by eight wickets in their second game on Sunday.

Hosts Sri Lanka and the West Indies have qualified for the last four from group one.

Faf du Plessis replaces Richard Levi for the South Africans, while Albie Morkel is back in place of Wayne Parnell.



Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Irfan Pathan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Zaheer Khan, Rohit Sharma, Lakshmipathy Balaji.

South Africa:

AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis, Farhaan Behardien, Johan Botha, JP Duminy, Jacques Kallis, Albie Morkel, Morné Morkel, Robin Peterson, Dale Steyn.

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (SRI) and Rod Tucker (AUS)

TV umpire: Ian Gould (ENG)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who do you think will win this year's ICC World Twenty20 tournament in India?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 PSL season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.