ICC World Twenty20

Proteas crash out of World T20

2012-10-02 15:17
SA skipper AB de Villiers (AP)
Cape Town - The Proteas have been eliminated from the World Twenty20 after Pakistan defeated Australia by 32 runs in Colombo on Tuesday.

South Africa still play India later but it will only be a game of academic importance for AB de Villiers's men.

Pakistan made 149-6 after being sent in to bat and then restricted Australia to 117-7 at the Premadasa Stadium. Both teams ended the Super Eights on four points each.

Australia advanced to the semi-finals, despite the defeat, due to them having the best net run-rate in the group. India need a big win over South Africa later on Tuesday to stop Pakistan's progress into the semi-finals.

Sri Lanka and the West Indies have already qualified from group one.

Veteran Mike Hussey was Australia's saviour with an unbeaten 54 off 47 balls as none of the other batsmen managed to cross 15 against the rampaging spinners.

Australia never looked comfortable after their in-form openers, Shane Watson and David Warner, were dismissed by the fifth over with only 19 runs on the board.

Australia, who needed to make 112 or more to qualify, achieved the target when Hussey cut seamer Umar Gul to the fence off the first ball of the final over.

Gul's two overs at the end were the only ones by a seamer as the spinners shared 18 overs between themselves.

Pakistan's innings revolved around left-hander Nasir Jamshed's 55 off 46 balls, which contained four boundaries and two sixes.

After the openers were removed by the sixth over, Jamshed put on 79 off 55 balls for the third wicket with Kamran Akmal, who made 32 before both batsmen were dismissed in the space of three deliveries.

Abdul Razzaq marked his return to the side in place of Yasir Arafat to make 22 from 17 balls. Left-arm fast bowler Mitchell Starc claimed 3-20 for Australia.

Brief scores:

Pakistan 149-6 (Nasir Jamshed 55, Kamran Akmal 32, Abdul Razzaq 22; Mitchell Starc 3-20) def. Australia 117-7 (Mike Hussey 54 not out; Saeed Ajmal 3-17, Raza Hasan 2-14, Mohammad Hafeez 2-22) by 32 runs

Read more on:    icc world twenty20  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Who do you think will win this year's ICC World Twenty20 tournament in India?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 PSL season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.