Serena, Djokovic head US Open entry lists

2016-07-20 18:43
Novak Djokovic (AFP)

White Plains - Serena Williams and Novak Djokovic head the direct entry lists for this year's US Open.

Williams will aim to break the record she currently shares with Steffi Graf for most Grand Slam titles in the Open era, while Djokovic will seek to reach his sixth final in the past seven years at Flushing Meadows.

The fields announced by the US Tennis Association on Wednesday include the top 98 members of this week's ATP rankings, and 101 of the top 103 in the WTA rankings. The two women missing: 2006 US Open champion Maria Sharapova, who is serving a doping ban that she is appealing, and two-time runner-up Victoria Azarenka, who recently announced she is pregnant.

Williams has won six of her 22 major singles championships at the US Open, most recently in 2014. Last year, her bid for a calendar-year Grand Slam ended with a semi-final loss in New York against Roberta Vinci. Other past women's champions at Flushing Meadows who are on the direct entry list: Williams' sister Venus, Samantha Stosur and Svetlana Kuznetsova.

Three women are using a special ranking to get into the field: Peng Shuai, Galina Voskoboeva and Vitalia Diatchenko.

There are five past US Open champions in the men's field: Djokovic, Roger Federer, Andy Murray and Marin Cilic.

Six men got into the field with a protected ranking: Julien Benneteau, Janko Tipsarevic, Brian Baker, Thanasi Kokkinakis, Dmitry Tursunov and Jerzy Janowicz.

Juan Martin del Potro, the 2009 champion, is entered as an alternate, meaning his ranking is too low for direct entry and he would need a wildcard invitation to participate. Because of a series of operations on his left wrist, he hasn't competed at the US Open since 2013.

Eight men and eight women will receive wildcards from the USTA, while 16 men and 16 women will get into the field via qualifying rounds in August.

The main draw for the year's last Grand Slam tournament begins August 29, with the women's singles final on September 10, and the men's on September 11.


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

When all is said and done, who of the 'Big 3' in men's tennis ends their career with the most Grand Slams?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.