Henman: This is Murray's year

2013-06-24 14:19
Andy Murray (AFP)
Cape Town - Former top English tennis player Tim Henman believes 2013 is the year that Andy Murray breaks Britain's 77-year wait for a men's singles champion at Wimbledon.

Henman, who ended up on the losing side in four Wimbledon semi-finals, believes the Scot has gained enough experience to handle to pressure moments after his heartbreaking loss to Roger Federer in last year's final.

Murray went on to beat Federer in the Olympic final a few weeks later and also bagged his first major by beating Novak Djokovic in the US Open final in September.

VIDEO: Wimbledon babes party

"I'm going for Andy Murray," Henman told the BBC Sport website. "Last year's final and his success at the Olympics taught him so much and I really think this will be his year."

Murray opens his campaign on Monday against German veteran Benjamin Becker.

Henman also believes - as most pundits do - that Serena Williams will successfully defend her women's crown.

"She is an utterly dominant force in women's tennis and I just can't see anyone beating her," said Henman.

Wimbledon order of play on Monday, the first day of the 2013 tournament at the All England Club (x denotes seeding):

Centre Court

Victor Hanescu (ROU) v Roger Federer (SUI x3)
Kristina Mladenovic (FRA) v Maria Sharapova (RUS x3)
Benjamin Becker (GER) v Andy Murray (GBR x2)

Court One

Maria Joao Koehler (POR) v Victoria Azarenka (BLR x2)
Rafael Nadal (ESP x5) v Steve Darcis (BEL)
Lleyton Hewitt (AUS) v Stanislas Wawrinka (SUI x11)

Court Two

Virginie Razzano (FRA) v Ana Ivanovic (SRB 12)
Marcos Baghdatis (CYP) v Marin Cilic (CRO x10)
Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA x6) v David Goffin (BEL)
Petra Kvitova (CZE x8) v Coco Vandeweghe (USA)

Court Three

Elena Baltacha (GBR) v Flavia Pennetta (ITA)
Kyle Edmund (GBR) v Jerzy Janowicz (POL x24)
Janko Tipsarevic (SRB x14) v Viktor Troicki (SRB)
Estrella Cabeza Candela (ESP) v Caroline Wozniacki (DEN x9)

Court 12

Fabio Fognini (ITA x30) v Jurgen Melzer (AUT)
Jelena Jankovic (SRB x16) v Johanna Konta (GBR)
James Ward (GBR) v Lu Yen-Hsun (TPE)
Marion Bartoli (FRA x15) v Elina Svitolina (UKR)

Court 18

Sara Errani (ITA x5) v Monica Puig (PUR)
Robin Haase (NED) v Mikhail Youzhny (RUS x20)
Nicolas Almagro (ESP x15) v Jurgen Zopp (EST)
Sloane Stephens (USA x17) v Jamie Hampton (USA)

Read more on:    wimbledon  |  atp tour  |  andy murray  |  tennis

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk


Novak Djokovic has 12 Grand Slam titles to his name, while Rafael Nadal boasts 15. Roger Federer is currently out in front with 18. When all is said and done, who wins more?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.