WTA Tour

Muguruza suffers shock defeat in Indian Wells

2018-03-10 09:03
Garbine Muguruza (Getty)

Indian Wells - Reigning Wimbledon champion Garbine Muguruza crashed out of the WTA Indian Wells tournament on Friday night losing 2-6, 7-5, 6-1 to world No 100 Sachia Vickery.

Muguruza, who was seeded third, was named WTA player of the year last year after winning titles in Wimbledon and Cincinnati. The 24-year-old also reached number one in the world in September and was ranked third heading into Indian Wells.

"I did a couple mistakes here and there and she took advantage of that," Muguruza said. "She was raising her level more and more."

This the Spaniard's first loss to a player ranked in the 100s since she was beaten by Jana Cepelova (124) at Wimbledon in 2016.

Muguruza had five double faults and had her serve broken five times in the two hour, 11 minute night match.

Crowd favourite Vickery, of the US, posted her first career win over a top 10 player as she served masterfully and controlled the rallies with her ground strokes.

Vickery defeated former Wimbledon finalist Eugenie Bouchard in the first round before recording the biggest win of her young career against Muguruza.

"I played on big courts before but nothing like this," said the 22-year-old Vickery. "Honestly I can't believe I won."

"I just tried to fight every point.

Vickery said the partisan crowd motivated her

"The atmosphere really helped me even though I was feeling it a bit physically. I kept telling myself 'just do your best'."

Vickery next faces Japan's Naomi Osaka who posted the first surprise win of the tournament by eliminating Maria Sharapova in her opening match.

Results on Friday on the third day of the ATP and WTA Indian Wells tournament:


2nd rd

Simona Halep (ROM x1) bt Kristyna Pliskova (CZE) 6-4, 6-4

Wang Qiang (CHN) bt Elise Mertens (BEL x22) 4-6, 6-3, 6-3

Kristina Mladenovic (FRA x14) bt Samantha Stosur (AUS) 7-5, 7-5

Aryna Sabalenka (BLR) bt Svetlana Kuznetsova (RUS x19) 6-4, 6-3

Marketa Vondrousova (CZE) bt Johanna Konta (GBR x11) 7-6 (7/5), 6-4

Naomi Osaka (JPN) bt Agnieszka Radwanska (POL x31) 6-3, 6-2

Coco Vandeweghe (USA x17) bt Kaia Kanepi (EST) 6-0, 7-6 (8/6)

Petra Kvitova (CZE x9) bt Yulia Putintseva (KAZ) 6-7 (4/7), 7-6 (7/3), 6-4

Petra Martic (CRO) bt Barbora Zahlavova Strycova (CZE x25) 7-5, 6-4

Amanda Anisimova (USA) bt Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova (RUS x23) 6-4, 6-1

Zhang Shuai (CHN x32) bt Sofia Kenin (USA) 6-2,6-3

Maria Sakkari (GRE) bt Ashleigh Barty (AUS x16) 6-4, 6-2

Jelena Ostapenko (LET x6) bt Belinda Bencic (SUI) 6-4, 3-6, 6-1

Caroline Dolehide (USA) bt Dominika Cibulkova (SVK x30) 5-7, 6-3, 6-4

Karolina Pliskova (CZE x5) bt Irina-Camelia Begu (ROM) 7-6 (7/4), 6-1

Sachia Vickery (USA) bt Garbine Muguruza (ESP x3) 2-6, 7-5, 6-1.


1st rd

Felix Auger-Aliassime (CAN) bt Vasek Pospisil (CAN) 6-2, 7-6 (7/4)

Ernesto Escobedo (USA) bt Frances Tiafoe (USA) 7-5, 6-3

Yuki Bhambri (IND) bt Nicolas Mahut (FRA) 7-5, 6-3

Marcos Baghdatis (CYP) bt Yoshihito Nishioka (JPN) 7-5, 3-6, 7-5

Joao Sousa (POR) bt Mikhail Youzhny (RUS) 4-6, 6-4, 7-6 (7/4)

Tennys Sandgren (USA) bt Nikoloz Basilashvili (GEO) 6-3, 2-1 retired

Taro Daniel (JPN) bt Cameron Norrie (GBR) 6-3, 1-6, 6-1

Gael Monfils (FRA) bt Matthew Ebden (AUS) 6-3, 6-3

Pierre-Hugues Herbert (FRA) bt Gilles Simon (FRA) 6-7 (8/10), 7-6 (7/5), 6-3

Marton Fucsovics (HUN) bt Viktor Troicki (SRB) 7-6 (7/3), 6-1

Alex de Minaur (AUS) bt Jan-Lennard Struff (GER) 3-6, 7-6 (7/3), 7-6 (7/5)

Thomas Fabbiano (ITA) bt Bradley Klahn (USA) 6-4, 6-4

Leonardo Mayer (ARG) bt Victor Estrella Burgos (DOM) 4-6, 6-4, 6-1

Dudi Sela (ISR) bt Peter Gojowczyk (GER) 6-4, 6-4

Tim Smyczek (USA) bt Laslo Djere (SRB) 6-3, 6-2

Mischa Zverev (GER) bt Mikhail Kukushkin (KAZ) 6-3, 4-6, 6-1

Read more on:    wta tour  |  garbine muguruza  |  tennis


Read News24’s Comments Policy


When all is said and done, who of the 'Big 3' in men's tennis ends their career with the most Grand Slams?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.