WTA Tour

Chris Evert trophy will go to No 1 player in WTA

2018-10-27 07:47
Chris Evert (Getty Images)

Singapore — The Women's Tennis Association (WTA) has dedicated its trophy for the top-ranked player of the year in honor of Chris Evert.

Simona Halep has received the newly named Chris Evert WTA World No. 1 Trophy.

She's the year-end No 1 player for the second straight season. Halep isn't playing at the current WTA Finals because of a back injury.

Evert was the first WTA No 1 in 1975, when she won 15 titles. She says she's "honored and privileged" to have her name on the trophy. The American finished her career in 1989 with 157 singles titles and 18 Grand Slam singles titles.

Steffi Graf earning the year-end No 1 a record eight times from 1987-96.

Read more on:    wta  |  tennis


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming


Which is your favourite Grand Slam of the year?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.