US Open

Hingis, Mirza win US Open women's doubles title

2015-09-13 19:48
Martina Hingis (File)

New York - Wimbledon champions Martina Hingis and Sania Mirza captured their second consecutive Grand Slam women's doubles crown Sunday, defeating Casey Dellacqua and Yaroslava Shvedova 6-3, 6-3 in the US Open final.

India's Mirza and Swiss veteran Hingis did not drop a set in becoming the first top-seeded duo to win the US Open women's doubles title since Cara Black and Liezel Huber won the 2008 crown.

Hingis also won the mixed doubles alongside a partner from India, men's doubles veteran Leander Paes.

It was the 11th career Grand Slam doubles title for Hingis, 34, who has won four Australian Opens (1997, 1998, 1999, 2002), two French Opens (1998, 2000), three at Wimbledon (1996, 1998, 2015) and two on the New York hardcourts in 1998 with Jana Novotna and this year.

Mirza, the world doubles number one at 28, won her only prior Slam women's doubles title with world doubles number two Hingis in July at the All England Club.

Australia's Dellacqua, 30, had been seeking her first Grand Slam doubles crown but settles for a sixth runner-up showing, including the 2013 US and Australian Opens and Wimbledon plus the 2008 and 2015 French Opens.

Kazak Shvedova, 28, owns two major women's doubles titles from 2010 at Wimbledon and the US Open.

Hingis was also the US Open doubles runner-up last year alongside Italy's Flavia Pennetta, who won her first Grand Slam singles crown Saturday by beating compatriot Roberta Vinci in the US Open women's singles final.

Mirza and Hingis have reached finals in six of 12 tournaments together while Dellacqua and Shvedova have made four finals from seven pairings.

Read more on:    us open  |  martina hingis  |  tennis

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk


Which is your favourite Grand Slam of the year?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.