Top awards for Federer

2009-03-26 09:02

Florida - Roger Federer earned the ATP Tour's Stefan Edberg sportsmanship award for a record fifth consecutive year, and he was chosen the favorite player for the sixth year in a row in a poll of fans on Wednesday.

Top-ranked Rafael Nadal was chosen player of the year, and first-year pair Daniel Nestor of Canada and Nenad Zimonjic of Serbia was selected doubles team of the year.

James Blake of the United States won the Arthur Ashe humanitarian of the year award for his charitable efforts, and Rainer Schuettler of Germany was chosen comeback player of the year. France's Jo-Wilfried Tsonga was chosen most improved, and Japan's Kei Nishikori won newcomer of the year.

"It is great to receive two more awards," Federer said. "It is always important for me to be a good sportsman on the court and give the right example for others to follow and hopefully inspire the next generation. It also means the world to me to be the fans' favorite player for the sixth year in a row."

Edberg won the sportsmanship award five times over eight years.


  • Lily White - 2009-03-27 15:24

    In the real world, crying when you lose is a sign of being a spoilt brat not great sportsmanship. I think Nadal deserves this award. If for nothing more than him having to console this cry-baby when he should be reveling in a win...

  • ADRIENNE SCHICK - 2009-04-15 21:20

    In answer to Lily White, Roger was not crying because he lost, he was crying because the Australian spectators were giving him a standing ovation that went on and on and on - that was the emotion that overcame him, the love of the crowd even though he had lost. And to be able to show emotion just proves how human he is.

  • pages:
  • 1