French Open

Key facts on French Open men's final

2016-06-04 09:37
Novak Djokovic (AFP)

Paris - Five facts about the French Open men's final between Novak Djokovic and Andy Murray:

- It will be the seventh meeting between Djokovic and Murray in a Grand Slam final. Djokovic has a 7-2 win-loss record against Murray in all rounds at the Grand Slams, and a 4-2 win-loss record in finals. The only player Djokovic has beaten on more occasions than Murray at a Grand Slam is Roger Federer (nine times).

- Djokovic is looking to become just the eighth man -- and second oldest -- to complete the career Grand Slam after Andre Agassi, Don Budge, Roy Emerson, Roger Federer, Rod Laver, Rafael Nadal and Fred Perry. Only Budge and Laver have completed a calendar year Grand Slam -- Budge in 1938 and Laver in 1962 and 1969.

- Roland Garros is the only Grand Slam title that Djokovic has not won. He has won 11 Grand Slam titles -- at the Australian Open in 2008, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2016, Wimbledon in 2011, 2014 and 2015, US Open in 2011 and 2015. Having won the 2016 Australian Open, Djokovic is looking to become the first man in 24 years to hold the first two legs of the calendar Grand Slam.

- Murray is a two-time Grand Slam champion, having defeated Djokovic in the final on both occasions. He became the first British male Grand Slam winner since Fred Perry won the 1936 US Open at the 2012 US Open, before becoming the first British man in 77 years to win the Wimbledon title in 2013.

- Murray is attempting to become the second British man to win the Roland Garros title after Fred Perry, who won the title in 1935. Murray is just the third British man to reach the final since the event became international in 1925 with Bunny Austin a runner-up in 1937.

Read more on:    french open  |  andy murray  |  novak djokovic  |  tennis


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights


Which is your favourite Grand Slam of the year?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.