Australian Open

SA officials relish Australian Open duties

2016-01-15 10:51
Pieter Hoeksma (Picture: Tennis South Africa)

Johannesburg - Other than South African tennis stars Kevin Anderson and Raven Klaasen flying the rainbow nation’s flag at the first Grand Slam of 2016, three South African tennis officials will be representing the country in Melbourne at the Australian Open which starts next week.

Tennis South Africa’s (TSA) Technical Manager Iain Smith, Africa’s highest ranked tennis official who heads the officiating programme at TSA, is presently in Melbourne to do Review Officiating duty there.

“Being appointed to officiate at the Australian Open is a big responsibility, but an appointment that is very much appreciated and an honour to accept. Working any of the Grand Slams even once is an accomplishment as being part of the games is a wonderful experience and a privilege” Smith commented.

Smith is joined by three other South African officials, all Pretoria based, namely George Phiri, Charles Mehlape and Pieter Hoeksma who will have line and chair umpiring duties for the Grand Slam.

Mehlape, who has been based in Australia for a number of years, was nominated through the Tennis Australian officiating system but recently moved back to South Africa.

“Tennis officiating is my first love and passion and to officiate in the game at the highest level is a true honour for me,” said Phiri.

Hoeksma commented: “Only after arriving at the Australian Open site for my seventh Australian Open I realised once again how privileged I am to be part of this amazing event. After so many years I still get goosebumps when walking on court and always a little nervous for those close calls. I’m really looking forward to the next three weeks of awesome tennis experiences.”

Tennis South African President and acting  Chief Executive Officer, Gavin Crookes, said: “My best wishes go the four officials all the best as they head to Melbourne to work at the opening Grand Slam of 2016. I know they will do themselves, South Africa and the game proud”

The Australian Open takes place in Melbourne from January 18 to 31 January.

Read more on:    atp tour  |  australian open  |  ian smith  |  tennis

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which is your favourite Grand Slam of the year?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.