ATP Tour

Djokovic downs Del Potro in Indian Wells

2017-03-15 06:59
Novak Djokovic (Getty)

Indian Wells - World number two Novak Djokovic withstood Juan Martin del Potro 7-5, 4-6, 6-1 on Tuesday to reach the fourth round of the ATP Indian Wells Masters.

Djokovic, whose five Indian Wells titles include the last three, next faces Australian Nick Kyrgios, a 6-3, 6-4 winner over Germany's Alexander Zverev.

Kyrgios, the 15th seed, stunned Djokovic in straight sets in the quarter-finals at Acapulco this month.

Results on Tuesday in the BNP Paribas Open ATP Masters/WTA tournament in Indian Wells, California (x denotes seeded player):


Third round

Malek Jaziri (TUN) bt Taylor Fritz (USA) 6-4, 3-6, 6-3

Jack Sock (USA x17) bt Grigor Dimitrov (BUL x12) 3-6, 6-3, 7-6 (9/7)

Donald Young (USA) bt Lucas Pouille (FRA x14) 6-4, 1-6, 6-3

Kei Nishikori (JPN x4) bt Gilles Muller (LUX x25) 6-2, 6-2

Rafael Nadal (ESP x5) bt Fernando Verdasco (ESP x26) 6-3, 7-5

Roger Federer (SUI x9) bt Steve Johnson (USA x24) 7-6 (7/3), 7-6 (7/4)

Nick Kyrgios (AUS x15) bt Alexander Zverev (GER x18) 6-3, 6-4

Novak Djokovic (SRB) bt Juan Martin del Potro (ARG) 7-5, 4-6, 6-1


Fourth round

Karolína Plískova (CZE x3) bt Timea Bacsinszky (SUI x15) 5-1 retired

Garbine Muguruza (ESP) bt Elina Svitolina (UKR) 7-6 (7/5), 1-6, 6-0

Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova (RUS x19) bt Dominika Cibulkova (SVK x5) 6-4, 3-6, 6-2

Svetlana Kuznetsova (RUS x8) bt Caroline Garcia (FRA x21) 6-1, 6-4

Caroline Wozniacki (DEN x13) bt Madison Keys (USA X9) 6-4, 6-4

Kristina Mladenovic (FRA x28) bt Lauren Davis (USA) 6-3, 6-3

Venus Williams (USA x12) bt Peng Shuai (CHN) 3-6, 6-1, 6-3

Elena Vesnina (RUS x14) bt Angelique Kerber (GER x2) 6-3, 6-3

Read more on:    atp tour  |  novak djokovic  |  tennis


Read News24’s Comments Policy


When all is said and done, who of the 'Big 3' in men's tennis ends their career with the most Grand Slams?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.