ATP Tour

Australia denies Kyrgios shot at award

2016-10-21 07:13
Nick Kyrgios (Getty Images)

Sydney - Australian tennis officials will not consider Nick Kyrgios for the Newcombe Medal.

For the second year in a row, the 21-year-old has been left out of consideration for the Australian Tennis Awards' top prize, despite winning three ATP titles this season.

Kyrgios was suspended for eight weeks by the ATP after refusing to compete at the Shanghai Masters.

He won the Newcombe Medal in 2014, but was not considered last year after disciplinary issues.

This year was among his best, winning all three of his ATP titles, in Marseille, Washington and Tokyo.

The awards recognise the performances, achievements and contributions of the Australian tennis scene and are named after Australian tennis legend John Newcombe.

Dylan Alcott is said to be favourite to win the award, while Sam Stosur, Bernard Tomic and Daria Gavrilova are in the running.

Alcott secured gold in both the wheelchair quad singles and doubles at the Rio de Janeiro Paralympic Games in August.

Stosur reached the French Open semi-finals, while Tomic reached five quarter-finals, two semis, a final and the fourth round at the Australian Open and Wimbledon.

Read more on:    nick kyrgios  |  tennis


Read News24’s Comments Policy


When all is said and done, who of the 'Big 3' in men's tennis ends their career with the most Grand Slams?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.