ATP Tour

Nadal, Serena top-seeded

2014-01-08 12:05
Rafael Nadal (AFP)

Melbourne - As expected, No 1-ranked Rafael Nadal and Serena Williams have been made the top seeds at the Australian Open which begins on Monday at Melbourne Park.

Defending champion Novak Djokovic is the No 2-seeded man, followed by David Ferrer, Wimbledon champion Andy Murray, Juan Martin del Potro and 17-time Grand Slam champion Roger Federer at sixth.

On the women's side, defending champion Victoria Azarenka is No 2, followed by Maria Sharapova, Li Na, Agnieszka Radwanska and former Wimbledon champion Petra Kvitova in sixth.

The 32 seeds were only altered twice from the rankings, both because of injuries.

No 29-ranked Jurgen Melzer is not playing due to a left shoulder injury and Maria Kirilenko, who would have been seeded 18th, has a left knee injury.

Seedings announced on Wednesday for the Australian Open, starting in Melbourne on January 13.


1. Rafael Nadal (ESP), 2. Novak Djokovic (SRB), 3, David Ferrer (ESP), 4. Andy Murray (GBR), Juan Martin Del Potro (ARG), 6. Roger Federer (SUI), 7. Tomas Berdych (CZE), 8. Stanislas Wawrinka (SUI), 9. Richard Gasquet (FRA), 10. Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA), 11, Milos Raonic (CAN), 12. Tommy Haas (GER), 13. Nicolas Almagro (ESP), 14. John Isner (USA), 15. Mikhail Youzhny (RUS), 16. Fabio Fognini (ITA), 17. Kei Nishikori (JPN), 18. Tommy Robredo (ESP), 19, Gilles Simon (FRA), 20. Kevin Anderson (RSA), 21. Jerzy Janowicz (POL), 22. Philipp Kohlschreiber (GER), 23. Grigor Dimitrov (BUL), 24. Ernests Gulbis (LAT), 25. Andreas Seppi (ITA), 26. Gael Monfils (FRA), 27. Feliciano Lopez (ESP), 28. Benoit Paire (FRA), 29. Vasek Pospisil (CAN), 30. Jeremy Chardy (FRA), 31. Dmitry Tursunov (RUS), 32. Fernando Verdasco (ESP).


1. Serena Williams (USA), 2. Victoria Azarenka (BLR), 3. Maria Sharapova (RUS), 4. Li Na (CHN), 5. Agnieszka Radwanska (POL), 6. Petra Kvitova (CZE), 7. Sara Errani (ITA), 8. Jelena Jankovic (SRB), 9. Angelique Kerber (GER), 10. Caroline Wozniacki (DEN), 11. Simona Halep (ROM), 12. Roberta Vinci (ITA), 13. Sloane Stephens (USA), 14. Ana Ivanovic (SRB), 15. Sabine Lisicki (GER), 16. Carla Suarez Navarro (ESP), 17. Samantha Stosur (AUS), 18. Kirsten Flipkens (BEL), 19. Svetlana Kuznetsova (RUS), 20. Dominika Cibulkova (SVK), 21. Sorana Cirstea (ROM), 22. Ekaterina Makarova (RUS), 23. Elena Vesnina (RUS), 24. Kaia Kanepi (EST), 25. Alize Cornet (FRA), 26. Lucie Safarova (CZE), 27. Jamie Hampton (USA), 28. Flavia Pennetta (ITA), 29. Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova (RUS), 30. Eugenie Bouchard (CAN), 31. Daniela Hantuchova (SVK), 32. Magdalena Rybarikova (SVK).

Read more on:    atp  |  rafael nadal  |  serena williams  |  tennis


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.


When all is said and done, who of the 'Big 3' in men's tennis ends their career with the most Grand Slams?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.