African Footballer of the Year named on Friday

2015-12-09 21:29
Yaya Toure (Getty Images)

Cape Town - The winner of African Footballer of the Year 2015 will be revealed simultaneously on television, radio and online on Friday, December 11, 2015.

The announcement will be made during a special broadcast on BBC World News and BBC World Service at 17:30-18:00 (SA time) and revealed online via the BBC Africa Live page and on BBC social media channels.

The five nominated players for this year’s title are:

1.    Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang – Gabon and Borussia Dortmund (Germany)

2.    André Ayew – Ghana and Swansea City (England)

3.    Yacine Brahimi – Algeria and F.C. Porto (Portugal)

4.    Sadio Mané –  Senegal and Southampton (England)

5.    Yaya Touré – Ivory Coast and Manchester City (England)

Social media users can stay up to date with the competition by following BBC Sport and BBC Africa online and join the discussion using #BBCAFOTY.

Previous winners of the award include: Yacine Brahimi (2014), Yaya Touré (2013); Christopher Katongo (2012); André Ayew (2011) and Asamoah Gyan (2010).

Read more on:    soccer


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

After Stuart Baxter stepped down as Bafana Bafana head coach, who would you like to see take over?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.