Ronaldo scores winner, enters record books

2018-06-20 15:47
Cristiano Ronaldo (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Portugal captain Cristiano Ronaldo is the now the all-time top-scoring European player in international football after scoring against Morocco in their Soccer World Cup Group B clash at the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow on Wednesday.

Taking his tally to four goals at the tournament, the 33-year-old is the top goalscorer after bagging a hat-trick against Spain in Portugal's opening match.

After tying Ferenc Puskas' total of 84 goals against the Spaniards, Ronaldo moved to 85 goals - broken down into 50 in the qualification stages, 18 in FIFA tournaments and 17 in friendlies.

Ronaldo also became the first Portugal player since Jose Torres in 1966 to score a goal with his right foot, left foot and head in a single World Cup tournament.

The Real Madrid forward has to date scored the second and third fastest goals in Russia, netting after 3:30 against Spain, while his goal against Morocco was at 3:58.

All-time top-scoring European players in international football:

1. Cristiano Ronaldo - Portugal (85)

2. Ferenc Puskás - Hungary (84)

3. Sándor Kocsis - Hungary (75)

4. Miroslav Klose - Germany (71)

5. Robbie Keane - Republic of Ireland (68)

All-time top-scoring players in international football:

1. Ali Daei - Iran (109)

2. Cristiano Ronaldo - Portugal (85)

3. Ferenc Puskás - Hungary (84)

4. Kunishige Kamamoto - Japan (80)

5. Godfrey Chitalu - Zambia (79)

6. Hussein Saeed - Iraq (78)

7. Pele - Brazil (77)

8. Bashar Abdullah – Kuwait (75)

9. Malawi Kinnah Phiri - Malawi (71)

10. Majed Abdullah - Saudi Arabia (71)

More In This Category

Franz Beckenbauer, who won the World Cup as a player and a coach, welcomed Didier Deschamps "to our club!"
Trading spikes for boots, Usain Bolt ready to make run at pro soccer in Australia.
Iceland coach Heimir Hallgrimsson stepped down on Tuesday, a few weeks after leading the tiny nation at its first World Cup.
Venezuela President Nicolas Maduro believes Africa and not France are the true winners of the 2018 World Cup in Russia.