Dalic: 'In a SWC final you do not give such a penalty'

2018-07-16 07:59
Antoine Griezmann (Getty)

Moscow - Croatia coach Zlatko Dalic lamented his side's luck after conceding a controversial penalty awarded by VAR in losing the World Cup final 4-2 to France on Sunday.

READ: As it happened: France 4-2 Croatia

With the score level at 1-1, Argentine referee Nestor Pitana changed his initial decision and awarded a spot-kick, converted by Antoine Griezmann, for handball against Ivan Perisic after viewing television replays.

Despite the decision, Dalic defended VAR as a "good thing for football" but believes his side's luck in Russia finally ran out after penalty shootout wins over Denmark and Russia en route to the final.

"I never comment on referees but in a World Cup final you do not give such a penalty," said Dalic.

"It in no way diminishes France's win. We were a bit unlucky, maybe in the first six games we were favoured by luck and today we weren't.

"I have to congratulate my players, maybe today we played our best game at these championships. Against such a strong side as France you must not make mistakes. We are a bit sad but we must also be proud of what we've done."

Former pundits and players all took to social media to blast the penalty decision led by Peter Schmeichel who said the referee "robbed Croatia" with his decision.

More In This Category

Thomas Mueller says the Germans' shock early exit from the World Cup will provide "huge motivation" when he starts the new season.
Russian police have unexpectedly released Pussy Riot punk group members while they still face charges for invading the pitch at the World Cup football final.
Lazio midfielder Sergej Milinkovic-Savic has pledged his continued loyalty to the Serie A outfit amid reported interest from Europe's elite clubs.
New Real Madrid boss Julen Lopetegui says Gareth Bale is happy at the club and will reject any transfer move to Manchester United.