Past Golden Ball winners

2014-07-14 14:04

Rio de Janeiro - Recent recipients of the Soccer World Cup Player of the Tournament after Argentina's Lionel Messi picked up the 2014 Golden Ball award on Sunday.

2014 : Lionel Messi (ARG)

2010 : Diego Forlan (URU)

2006 : Zinedine Zidane (FRA)

2002 : Oliver Kahn (GER)

1998 : Ronaldo (BRA)

1994 : Romario (BRA)

1990 : Salvatore Schillaci (ITA)

1986 : Diego Maradona (ARG)

1982 : Paolo Rossi (ITA)

More In This Category

Alejandro Sabella, who steered Argentina to the SWC final, has decided to quit as coach, Argentine has media reported.
The Japanese referee whose decisions in the opening match of the SWC triggered a storm of controversy has hit back at critics.
Brazilian superstar Neymar's brain activity while dancing past opponents is less than 10 percent the level of amateur players.
England's dismal SWC campaign in Brazil was doubly disappointing for Britain's pub operators, prompting soccer fans to stay at home.
Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk