Messi v Müller for Golden Boot

2014-07-12 09:13
Thomas Müller (AFP)
Rio de Janeiro - Thomas Müller and Lionel Messi will be fighting for the crown of Soccer World Cup top goalscorer on Sunday - with all-time record holder and former Golden Boot winner Miroslav Klose not just an interested spectator.

Klose hopes to be starting for Germany against Argentina and could help team-mate Müller win the tournament Golden Boot while at the same time lifting the cup with Germany in the Maracana.

Müller, who has five goals to go with his five scored four years ago in South Africa, is one player who could one day better Klose's now record tally of 16 goals at World Cups, scored over four tournaments.

The 36-year-old Lazio striker could, of course, add to his haul as well, but would really like to see team-mate Müller overtake Colombia's James Rodriguez, who can no longer better his leading mark of six goals.

"Of course I would like Thomas to get it for a second time," Klose said. "But then he already has a (golden) boot. As I have a golden one and a silver one, it might be nice if he could also have a silver one."

One goal would be enough for Müller, while Messi would need at least two to win the Golden Boot in which the number of assists are taken into account if players are level on goals scored. Rodriguez has six goals and two assists, while Müller is on 5/3 and Messi 4/1.

There are some outsiders for the crown - with Germany's Andre Schuerrle on three, as are the Dutch duo Arjen Robben and Robin van Persie, who will be hoping to increase their tallies in the match for third place against Brazil. Brazil's Neymar - on four goals - is no longer in contention following the back injury which has put him out of the World Cup.

Winning both the World Cup and the Golden Boot would be something special for Müller.

"I hope, of course that I can help my team with a goal in the final. But if not then it's not so bad. I just want to win the cup with the team," he said.

No player has won consecutive Golden Boot titles. Mueller is the third German to win the award after Klose in 2006 and Gerd Mueller in 1970. Only Brazil, with five winners, have a better record.

More In This Category

Thomas Mueller says the Germans' shock early exit from the World Cup will provide "huge motivation" when he starts the new season.
Russian police have unexpectedly released Pussy Riot punk group members while they still face charges for invading the pitch at the World Cup football final.
Lazio midfielder Sergej Milinkovic-Savic has pledged his continued loyalty to the Serie A outfit amid reported interest from Europe's elite clubs.
New Real Madrid boss Julen Lopetegui says Gareth Bale is happy at the club and will reject any transfer move to Manchester United.