Sweden 1958

2010-05-04 14:35
Hosts: Sweden
Champions: Brazil
Runners Up: Sweden

The 1958 FIFA World Cup, the sixth staging of the World Cup, was hosted by Sweden from 8 June to 29 June. Sweden was chosen as hosts by FIFA in June 1950. It was won by Brazil, who beat Sweden 5–2 in the final for their first title. The World Cup marked the debut on the world stage of a precocious unknown 17-year-old named Pelé.

This World Cup saw the entry and qualification of the Soviet Union for the first time, and the qualification of all the United Kingdom's Home Nations: England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland, with Northern Ireland eliminating Italy for the first (and only) time in the competition's history.

The final was played in Solna, in the Råsunda Stadium, as 50,000 people watched in amazement as the Brazilians went a goal down after four minutes. The Brazilians were not dismayed, and Vavá equalised shortly afterwards and then put them a goal ahead before half time. In the second half Pelé outshone everyone, notching up two goals, including the first one where he lobbed the ball over Bengt Gustavsson then followed it with a precise volley shot. Zagallo added a goal in between, and Sweden managed a consolation goal. But the game really belonged to Pelé, and the Jules Rimet trophy belonged to Brazil - the World Cup winners.

Notable Facts
France’s Just Fontaine with 13 goals still holds the record for the most goals in a World Cup tournament.

In a Group 4 match between Brazil and England, the first ever goalless game in World Cup history occurred.

Golden Boot
France’s Just Fontaine with 13 goals

Frenchman and eventual Golden Boot winner Just Fontaine, whose record of 13 goals in a World Cup still stands, dribbles past Brazilian goalkeeper Gilmar during the semi-final in 1958. (AFP)
Read more on: sweden

More In This Category

The 2006 FIFA World Cup in Germany featured teams from all six continents, and will be remembered for a headbutt in the Final.
The 2002 FIFA World Cup, held in the Republic of Korea and Japan is most notable for the early exit of defending champions France.
The 1998 FIFA World Cup, held in France, included red cards, head-butting, stunning goals and a crushing defeat against the run of play.
The 1994 FIFA World Cup, held in the United States to encourage growth of the game there, saw the first occurrence of a Final decided by penalty shoot-out.
Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk