8 highest paid players at the World Cup

2018-06-12 13:50
Romelu Lukaku (Twitter)

Cape Town - The 2018 Soccer World Cup kicks off on Thursday, June 14 with hosts Russia taking on Saudi Arabia at the Luzhniki Stadium.

MUST READ: Can you name every winner of the Soccer World Cup?

But ahead of the much anticipated global showpiece, Sport24 takes a look at the eight highest paid players at the tournament, according to their reported weekly earnings.

Cristiano Ronaldo was recently dethroned by Lionel Messi as the highest football earner for the 2017/18 season, while Neymar's debut season in Ligue 1 secured him a second spot on the list - despite only 20 appearances for Paris Saint-Germain due to an ankle injury.

Midfield wizard Mesut Ozil was reportedly the highest earner at Arsenal last season, after the German international put pen to paper on a new contract.

Manchester United duo Paul Pogba and Romelu Lukaku, who will represent title hopefuls France and Belgium, respectively, made the list alongside Luis Suarez and youngster Kylian Mbappe.


1. Lionel Messi (Argentina/Barcelona) - £500 000

2. Neymar (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain) - £445 000

3. Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid) - £365 000

4. Mesut Ozil (Germany/Arsenal) - £300 000

5. Luis Suarez (Uruguay/Barcelona) - £290 000

6. Paul Pogba (France/Manchester United) - £290 000

7. Kylian Mbappe (France/Paris Saint-Germain) - £262 000

8. Romelu Lukaku (Belgium/Manchester United) - £250 000

More In This Category

Thomas Mueller says the Germans' shock early exit from the World Cup will provide "huge motivation" when he starts the new season.
Russian police have unexpectedly released Pussy Riot punk group members while they still face charges for invading the pitch at the World Cup football final.
Lazio midfielder Sergej Milinkovic-Savic has pledged his continued loyalty to the Serie A outfit amid reported interest from Europe's elite clubs.
New Real Madrid boss Julen Lopetegui says Gareth Bale is happy at the club and will reject any transfer move to Manchester United.