SA under-20 squad named

2012-10-03 19:16

Johannesburg - The under-20 national soccer team named an 18-man squad on Wednesday to play Nigeria in the second leg of its 2013 African Youth Championship (AYC) qualifying match on Sunday.

The players have been in a training camp since Sunday, preparing for what could be a tricky encounter against the defending AYC champions on their home ground.

The Nigerians have a crucial away-goal advantage over Amajita after the teams played to a 1-1 draw in the first leg in South Africa two weeks ago.

Coach Solly Luvhengo said his team played well, and were unlucky not to come away with a comprehensive win.

He was confident of another good performance and a positive result away from home.

"We know it is going to be a tough match. We know what to expect and we definitely know what is at stake, but the same goes for the Nigerians. They are also under pressure. We are preparing for battle and the players know that very well," he said.

"Obviously, the advantage is with Nigeria, but that does not intimidate us. Any team that plays at home has three advantages; the field, atmosphere and the crowd; these are the three things we cannot do anything about, what we can do is prepare as much as possible and give it all we have," said Luvhengo.

Amajita will depart for Nigeria on Thursday.

South African Under-20 squad: 

Brandon Joshua (Glendine United - captain), Maselaelo Seanego (Watford FC, Benoni), Lebo Ngubeni (University of Pretoria), Jerry Mxabo (FC Tigerburn), Marcus Lecki (Bidvest Wits), Mbongeni Gumede (Orlando Pirates), Chris Matombo (Pace Setters), Siyabonga Zulu (Sivutsa), Travis Graham (Ajax Cape Town), Menzi Masuku (Africa Sports Academy), Gershin Kock (Vasco Da Gama), Luckyboy Mokoena (Wits), Kaylan More (Jomo Cosmos), Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns), Snethemba Ngidi (Supersport United), Cebo Meyiwa (Supersport United), Thabani Mthembu (Platinum Stars), Lorenzo Gordinho (Kaizer Chiefs).