Absa Premiership

Sundowns, Wits CAF Champions League opponents named

2016-12-23 08:30
CAF Champions League winners (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - CAF Champions League holders, Mamelodi Sundowns, will start their defence of their title against the winner of the match-up between KCCA Club (Uganda) and Primeiro Agosto (Angola).

The first leg of the tie will take place in South Africa on the weekend of March 10-12, 2017 with the second away from home the following week.

Wits, who also appear in the competition this year after finishing second in the PSL for the 2015/16 season, will face AS Saint Louisienne (Reunion). 

The first leg will be a home fixture for the Clever Boys, scheduled for the weekend of February 10-12, 2017 with the second away leg happening the following week.

CAF Champions League 2017 preliminary and first round draw:

Preliminary round

Rail Kadiogo (BUR) v Diables Noirs (CGO)

Sony Ela Nguema (GEQ) v Al Merrikh (SUD)

Real Bamako (MLI) v Rivers Utd (NGR)

Tanda (CIV) v AS FAN (NIG)

Goree (SEN) v Horoya (GUI)

Johansen (SLE) v FUS Rabat (MAR)

Wa All Stars (GHA) v Al Ahly Tripoli (LBA)

KCCA (UGA) v Primeiro Agosto (ANG)

Mounana (GAB) v Vital'O (BDI)


Ngaya (COM) v Young Africans (TAN)

Barrack Young Controllers II (LBR) v Stade Malien (MLI)

Zimamoto (ZAN) v Ferroviario Beira (MOZ)

JS Saoura (ALG) v Enugu Rangers (NGR)

Royal Leopard (SWZ) v V Club (COD)

Ports Authority (GAM) v Sewe Sport (CIV)

CNaPS Sport (MAD) v Township Rollers (BOT)

Coton Sport (CMR) v Atlabara (SSD)

Saint-Louisienne (REU) v Wits (RSA)

Lioli (LES) v CAPS Utd (ZIM)

Cote d'Or (SEY) v Saint George (ETH)

AC Leopards (CGO) v UMS Loum (CMR)

Tusker (KEN) v Port Louis 2000 (MRI)

First round

USM Alger (ALG) v Kadiogo or Diables

Bamako or Rivers v Nguema or Merrikh

Etoile Sahel (TUN) v Tanda or FAN

Esperance (TUN) v Goree or Horoya

Wa or Ahly Tripoli v Johansen or FUS

Mamelodi Sundowns (RSA, holders) v KCCA or Primeiro

Wydad Casablanca (MAR) v Mounana or Vital'O

Ngaya or Young Africans v ZANACO or APR

Zimamoto or Beira v Controllers or Malien

Zamalek v Saoura or Enugu

Ports or Sewe v Leopard or V Club

Coton or Atlabara v CNaPS or Rollers

Al Ahly (EGY) v Louisienne or Wits

TP Mazembe (COD) v Lioli or CAPS

Leopards or Loum v Cote or George

Al Hilal (SUD) v Tusker or Port Louis

Note: first round winners qualify for 16-club group phase, which starts on May 12, and first round losers drop to CAF Confederation Cup

CAF Confederation Cup 2017 preliminary and first round draw:

Preliminary round

Monrovia Breweries (LBR) v JS Kabylie (ALG)

Etoile Congo (CGO) v Racing Micomeseng (GEQ)

Ifeanyi Ubah (NGR) v Al Masry (EGY)

Defence Force (ETH) v Young Sports Academy (CMR)

Douanes (NIG) v Ittihad Tanger (MAR)

Saint-Michel Elgeco Plus (MAD) v SuperSport United (RSA)

Akanda (GAB) v Renaissance (COD)

Bechem Utd (GHA) v Mouloudia Alger (ALG)

RSLAF (SLE) v Wikki Tourists (NGR)

Platinum Stars (RSA) v Uniao Songo (MOZ)

Vipers (UGA) v Volcan (COM)

Orapa Utd (BOT) v Mbabane Swallows (SWZ)

KVZ (ZAN) v Le Messager Ngozi (BDI)

Apejes Academy (CMR) v Niarry Tally (SEN)

Al Salam Wau (SSD) v Rayon Sports (RWA)

Sonabel (BUR) v Sporting Gagnoa (CIV)

Moghreb Fes (MAR) v CARA (CGO)

Pamplemousses (MRI) v Ngezi Platinum (ZIM)

Al Hilal Al Obeid (SUD) v Saint-Michel Utd (SEY)

Al Hilal Benghazi (LBA) v Ulinzi Stars (KEN)

First round

Etoile or Micomeseng v Breweries or Kabylie

Djoliba (MLI) v Ifeanyi or Masry

CS Sfaxien (TUN) v Defence or Academy

Kaloum (GUI) v Douanes or Tanger

Al Ahly Shendy (SUD) v St Michel or SuperSport United

Bechem or Mouloudia v Akana or Renaissance

Club Africain (TUN) v RSLAF or Wikki

Vipers or Volcan v Platinum Stars or Songo

Azam (TAN) v Orapa or Swallows

ZESCO Utd (ZAM) v KVZ or Ngozi

ASEC Mimosas (CIV) v Apejas or Tally

Onze Createurs (MLI) v Salam or Rayon

Fes or CARA v Sonabel or Gagnoa

Recreativo Libolo (ANG) v Pamplemousses or Ngezi Platinum

Sanga Balende (COD) v Hilal Obeid

Smouha (EGY) v Hilal Benghazi or Ulinzi

Note: first round winners qualify for two-leg playoffs during April against CAF Champions League first round losers


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Tuesday, 24 September 2019
AmaZulu v Kaizer Chiefs, King Zwelithini Stadium 15:00
Friday, 27 September 2019
Maritzburg United v Chippa United, Harry Gwala Stadium 20:00
Saturday, 28 September 2019
Golden Arrows v Stellenbosch, Sugar Ray Xulu Stadium 15:00
Orlando Pirates v Cape Town City, Orlando Stadium 15:30
Kaizer Chiefs v Baroka FC, FNB Stadium 18:00
SuperSport United v AmaZulu, Lucas Moripe Stadium 20:15
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 Absa Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.