Absa Premiership

Sundowns win third Q-Innovation of the season

2016-05-13 12:11
Hlompho Kekana (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Fresh from their Absa Premiership championship triumph, Mamelodi Sundowns have added another feather on their hat when they were confirmed as Absa Premiership Q-Innovation Quarter Four (Q4) winners.

This is the third quarter in the 2015/16 season that Mamelodi Sundowns have won - out of the four quarters. Each quarter carries a prize money worth R1.5 million. This means Sundowns have won R4.5 million from the Q-Innovation. They will also be awarded with R10m for winning the Absa Premiership on 21 May 2016 - making it a total R14.5 million.

Mamelodi Sundowns finished with 16 points from six matches – with one game to spare. Quarter Four has seven fixtures. Lamontville Golden Arrows is second with 11 points from six matches. Third is Bloemfontein Celtic with 10 points from the same number of games.

Premier Soccer League (PSL) acting Chief Executive, Mato Madlala has congratulated Mamelodi Sundowns for the achievement.

Q-innovation Fact Sheets:

- Each side that wins a Quarter gets R1,5 million in prize money

- Quarter One (8 Fixtures), Quarter Two (7 Fixtures), Quarter Three (8 Fixtures), Quarter Four (7 Fixtures)

2015/16 season:

- Bidvest Wits won Absa Premiership 2015/16 Quarter 1 (19 Points, 8 games)

- Mamelodi Sundowns won Absa Premiership 2015/16 Quarter 2 (19 points, 7 games)

- Mamelodi Sundowns won Quarter Three with 19 points

- Mamelodi Sundowns won Quarter Four (16 points - with a game in hand)

2014/15 season

- Kaizer Chiefs won 2014/15 Absa Premiership Quarter 1 and Quarter 4

- Polokwane City claimed Quarter 2 top honours (2014/15 season)

- Mamelodi Sundowns won Quarter 3 (2014/15 season)

Read more on:    mamelodi sundowns  |  psl  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Friday, 15 December 2017
Cape Town City FC v AmaZulu FC, Cape Town Stadium 20:00
Saturday, 16 December 2017
Mamelodi Sundowns v Bloemfontein Celtic, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 15:30
Chippa United v Polokwane City, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 15:30
Free State Stars v Orlando Pirates, Goble Park 18:00
Wits v Platinum Stars, Bidvest Stadium 20:15
Kaizer Chiefs v Ajax Cape Town, Moses Mabhida Stadium 20:15
Sunday, 17 December 2017
Baroka FC v SuperSport United, Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:30
Golden Arrows v Maritzburg United, Princess Magogo Stadium 15:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Do you think SAFA made the right choice in appointing Stuart Baxter as head coach of Bafana Bafana?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.