Absa Premiership

Sundowns trio make CAF African XI of the Year

2017-01-05 08:27
Mamelodi Sundowns (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Keagan Dolly, Khama Billiat and Denis Onyango of Mamelodi Sundowns have been announced in the CAF African XI of the Year for 2016.

Alongside the Chloorkop trio Rainford Kalaba of Zambia and Joyce Lomalisa of DR Congo make the cut for African based players.

Meanwhile, Eric Bailly (Manchester United), Sadio Mane (Liverpool) and Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City) are the only representitives from the Premier League.

Completing the XI are Serge Aurier (Paris- Saint-Germain), Aymen Abdennour (Valencia) and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund)

CAF African XI of the Year:

1. Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
2. Serge Aurier (Ivory Coast & Paris Saint-Germain)
3. Aymen Abdennour (Tunisia & Valencia)
4. Eric Bailly (Ivory Coast & Manchester United)
5. Joyce Lomalisa (DR Congo and AS Vita)
6. Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns)
7. Rainford Kalaba (Zambia & TP Mazembe)
8. Keagan Dolly (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)
9. Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Leicester City)
10. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund)
11. Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

Read more on:    mamelodi sundowns  |  psl  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Wednesday, 26 September 2018
Baroka FC v Free State Stars, New Peter Mokaba Stadium 19:30
Tuesday, 02 October 2018
Cape Town City v Wits, Cape Town Stadium 19:30
AmaZulu v Maritzburg United, King Zwelithini Stadium 19:30
Highlands Park v Kaizer Chiefs, Makhulong Stadium 19:30
Polokwane City v SuperSport United, Old Peter Mokaba Stadium 19:30
Wednesday, 03 October 2018
Bloemfontein Celtic v Mamelodi Sundowns, Dr Molemela Stadium 19:30
Chippa United v Free State Stars, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 19:30
Orlando Pirates v Golden Arrows, Orlando Stadium 19:30
Black Leopards v Baroka FC, Thohoyandou Stadium 19:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

After slow starts to their respective 2018/19 Absa Premiership campaigns, who will finish the season ranked higher?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.