Absa Premiership

Sundowns legend backs Kekana for top award

2019-05-15 11:35
Hlompho Kekana (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Mamelodi Sundowns legend Roger Feutmba would choose Hlompho Kekana as the PSL Footballer of the Year because of the consistency he has shown.

Kekana, who led Masandawana to the Absa Premiership title on Saturday, was nominated for the big award alongside team-mate Themba Zwane and Orlando Pirates forward Thembinkosi Lorch.

Feutmba, who starred for Sundowns in the late 1990s, has no doubt that the current skipper deserves the award.

The former Cameroon international said in quotes published on KickOff: "If I were to pick one I would go for Hlompho Kekana.

"Why? Because for many years he has kept his consistency.

"For many years he has done well for South African football and I think he deserves it.

"Football is not about two good games. It's about consistency and he has been consistent. He has managed to do very well for Sundowns and he is one of the most important players in the team.

"Apart from him, I think Themba Zwane has done very well for Sundowns. But from what I've just mentioned, I'd go for Hlompho."

The PSL awards will take place on Sunday, May 18 with champions Sundowns dominating the list of nominees for most of the prizes on offer.


Footballer of the Season:

Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates)

Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)


Absa Premiership Player’s Player of the Season

Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates)

Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season

Benni McCarthy (Cape Town City)

Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Milutin Sredojevic (Orlando Pirates)

Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season

Gift Links (Cape Town City)

Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport United)

Bongani Sam (Bloemfontein Celtic)

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season

Peter Leeuwenburgh (Cape Town City)

Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Ronwen Willawns (SuperSport United)

Absa Premiership Defender of the Season

Sifiso Hlanti (Bidvest Wits)

Thamsanqa Mkhize (Cape Town City)

Ricardo Nascimento (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season

Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates)

Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)


MTN8 Last Man Standing

Bradley Grobler (SuperSport United)

Peter Leeuwenburgh (Cape Town City)

Thabo Nodada (Cape Town City)


Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament

Elvis Chipezeze (Baroka FC)

Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates)

Mduduzi Mdantsane (Baroka FC)


Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player

Zakhele Lepasa (TS Galaxy)

Terence Mashego (TS Galaxy)

Siphesakhe Ntiya-ntiya (Kaizer Chiefs)

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament

Khama Billiat (Kaizer Chiefs)

Zakhele Lepasa (TS Galaxy)

Bernard Parker (Kaizer Chiefs)


MultiChoice Diski Challenge Most Precious Find

Njabulo Blom (Kaizer Chiefs)

Sipho Chaine (Bloemfontein Celtic)

Kamogelo Mahlatsi (SuperSport United)

MultiChoice Diski Shield Player of the Tournament:

Siboniso Conco (Lamontville Golden Arrows)

Lindani Ndelu (Lamontville Golden Arrows)

Kamogelo Mahlatsi (SuperSport United)


* Nomination not available as yet.

Read more on:    mamelodi sundowns  |  psl  |  hlompho kekana  |  soccer


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Friday, 24 January 2020
Cape Town City v Black Leopards, Cape Town Stadium 20:00
SuperSport United v Chippa United, Lucas Moripe Stadium 20:00
Saturday, 25 January 2020
Stellenbosch v Polokwane City, Cape Town Stadium 15:30
Golden Arrows v Kaizer Chiefs, Moses Mabhida Stadium 15:30
Orlando Pirates v AmaZulu, Orlando Stadium 18:00
Sunday, 26 January 2020
Baroka FC v Maritzburg United, Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 Absa Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.