Absa Premiership

Sundowns duo to fight for captaincy

2016-07-11 10:13
Thabo Nthethe (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Mamelodi Sundowns' captaincy will be contested by Thabo Nthethe and Denis Onyango following Ramahlwe Mphahlele's departure to Kaizer Chiefs.

Mphahlele wore captain's armband and led Downs to the Absa Premiership league title the last season, but opted not to renew his contract with the Chloorkop-based side and subsequently jumped ship, joining Amakhosi.

Sundowns' communications co-ordinator Thulani Thuswa has confirmed that Onyango and Nthethe will be battling for the captaincy in the upcoming campaign.

"In fact, here at Sundowns we had three captains, Ramahlwe (Mphahlele), Nthethe (Thabo) and Onyango (Denis). But since Ramahlwe has left, the coach [Pitso Mosimane] will then have to choose between Nthethe and Onyango.

"We don't have a problem of team leadership here at 'Downs. Nthethe is currently the one carrying the team's captain armband as Onyango is still serving suspension [after being sent off against Madeama FC of Ghana in CAF Champions League]," Thuswa told Vodacom Soccer.

The Brazillians have resumed their CAF Champions League campaign on a high since being promoted back into Africa's big club tournament in May following AS Vita Club's disqualification.

The Mosimane-coached side beat ES Setif 2-0 [who have also since been disqualified] and Enyimba FC 2-1, and need to beat Zamalek on 17 July to strengthen their grip on top spot in Group B.

Read more on:    mamelodi sundowns  |  psl  |  soccer


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Friday, 31 January 2020
Maritzburg United v Cape Town City, Harry Gwala Stadium 20:00
Saturday, 01 February 2020
Highlands Park v Baroka FC, Makhulong Stadium 15:30
Chippa United v Orlando Pirates, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 15:30
Golden Arrows v SuperSport United, Sugar Ray Xulu Stadium 15:30
Sunday, 02 February 2020
AmaZulu v Polokwane City, Kings Park Stadium 15:30
Black Leopards v Stellenbosch, Thohoyandou Stadium 15:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 Absa Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.