Absa Premiership

Sundowns crowned PSL champions

2016-05-04 21:25
Anthony Laffor (Supplied)

Cape Town - Mamelodi Sundowns have been crowned Absa Premiership champions for a record extending seventh time following a 3-0 win over the University of Pretoria at Tuks Stadium on Wednesday. 

The Brazilians condemning AmaTuks to further misery with their Tshwane rivals in serious danger of relegation with two games remaining. 

With Billionaire-owner Patrice Motsepe watching on from the stands, Anthony Laffor made sure to settle any early nerves - hitting the back of the net on two occasions in the opening exchanges before completing his hat-trick in the second half. 

Laffor pounced on an early mistake against a AmaTuks side fighting their own battles. The home side failed to clear from danger, allowing Laffor time to sweep home on three minutes. 

The former SuperSport United winger made it 2-0 with 20 minutes on the clock, rounding off a superb run by player of the season contender Khama Billiat. 

Billiat and Laffor teamed up for Laffor's third in the 59th minute. The Liberia international with a cool finish after being put through on goal by his Sundowns teammate. 

The Brazilians saw out the rest of the game with relative ease as they reclaimed the title they lost to Kaizer Chiefs last season. 

Defeat for AmaTuks leaves them with a mountain to climb as they aim to avoid relegation back to the National First Division. Shaun Bartlett's side trail Jomo Cosmos by four points following their 2-2 draw at Ajax Cape Town. 

University of Pretoria (0) 0

Mamelodi Sundowns (2) 3 (Laffor 3' 20' 59')


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Friday, 28 February 2020
Maritzburg United v Stellenbosch, Harry Gwala Stadium 20:00
Saturday, 29 February 2020
Orlando Pirates v Kaizer Chiefs, FNB Stadium 15:30
Golden Arrows v Highlands Park, Sugar Ray Xulu Stadium 15:30
Chippa United v AmaZulu, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 18:00
SuperSport United v Wits, Mbombela Stadium 20:15
Sunday, 01 March 2020
Cape Town City v Mamelodi Sundowns, Cape Town Stadium 15:30
Bloemfontein Celtic v Baroka FC, Dr Molemela Stadium 15:30
Polokwane City v Black Leopards, Old Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 Absa Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.