Absa Premiership

Sundowns crash out of Club World Cup

2016-12-11 14:34
Percy Tau (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Mamelodi Sundowns have crashed out of the Club World Cup, losing 2-0 to Kashima Antlers of Japan.

As it happened: Kashima Antlers v Mamelodi Sundowns

Pitso Mosimane, put out an extremely strong side as Sundowns became the first South African team to play in the tournament which takes place each year and features teams crowned as continental champions from around the globe.

The South African side were not without a host of chances, especially in the first half as Percy Tau, Tiyani Mabunda and Thapelo Morena all saw their efforts brilliantly saved by the Antlers goalkeeper. 

Those missed chances came back to haunt Sundowns as Antlers found the back of the net twice in the second half through Yasushi Endo in the 63rd minute and Mu Kanazaki just before full time. 

Despite not advancing further in the competition, the likes of Khama Billiat, Keagan Dolly, Percy Tau, Hlompho Kekana, Anthony Laffor, Sibusiso Vilakazi and Leonardo Castro were able to showcase their talents on a global stage. 


Mamelodi Sundowns

Onyango, Morena, Nascimento, Arendse, Langerman, Kekana, Mabunda, Dolly, Billiat, Tau, Castro.

Substitutes: Mweene, Sandilands, Nthethe, S Zwane, Soumahoro, Mbekile, Mashaba, Mohomi, Modise, T Zwane, Laffor, Vilakazi

Kashima Antlers

Sogahat, Shoji, Nagaki (C), Shoma, Shibasaki, Nakamura, Shuto, Akasaki, Daigo, Ueda, Endo.

Substitutes: Kushibiki, Kawamata, Fabricio, Seok Ho, Bueno, Misao, Ito, Taro, Mu, Yuma, Hirato, Ogasawara.


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Wednesday, 23 October 2019
Mamelodi Sundowns v Highlands Park, Lucas Moripe Stadium 19:30
Friday, 25 October 2019
Cape Town City v Maritzburg United, Cape Town Stadium 20:00
SuperSport United v Black Leopards, Lucas Moripe Stadium 20:00
Saturday, 26 October 2019
Stellenbosch v Orlando Pirates, Cape Town Stadium 15:30
Golden Arrows v Polokwane City, Sugar Ray Xulu Stadium 15:30
Highlands Park v Chippa United, Makhulong Stadium 20:15
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 Absa Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.