Absa Premiership

PSL CEO hails Wits' Q1 triumph

2015-11-09 13:26
Jabulani Shongwe (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Premier Soccer League Chief Executive, Brand de Villiers has heaped praises on top-of-the log Absa Premiership side, Bidvest Wits after they were crowned as the Absa Premiership Q-Innovation Quarter One (Q1) winners.

This follows Bidvest Wits’ 3-1 victory against Jomo Cosmos at the Bidvest Stadium in Johannesburg on Sunday evening.

The triumph parachuted the ‘Clever Boys’ to the top of Q1 log ahead of Platinum Stars and MP Black Aces – the two clubs who have also made strong bids to claim Q1 top honours.

Bidvest Wits, who have 19 points from eight matches, will take home R1, 5 million in prize money.

“It is through their consistency in the Absa Premiership that Bidvest Wits have been able to win Quarter One," De Villiers said.

"They have played good football and this accolade is well deserved. We would like to congratulate the club management including, club chairman, the players, coach Gavin Hunt and the supporters for achieving this feat.”

“By all indications, we are in for an interesting season in the Absa Premiership more especially in the championship race.

"We have many clubs who have already raised their hand this season through an impressive start. This is good for our league and also for supporters.”

This is the first time that Bidvest Wits has won the Q-Innovation since inception during the 2012/13 season.

Read more on:    bidvest wits  |  psl  |  brand de villiers  |  soccer


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Friday, 31 January 2020
Maritzburg United v Cape Town City, Harry Gwala Stadium 20:00
Saturday, 01 February 2020
Highlands Park v Baroka FC, Makhulong Stadium 15:30
Chippa United v Orlando Pirates, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 15:30
Golden Arrows v SuperSport United, Sugar Ray Xulu Stadium 15:30
Sunday, 02 February 2020
AmaZulu v Polokwane City, Kings Park Stadium 15:30
Black Leopards v Stellenbosch, Thohoyandou Stadium 15:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 Absa Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.