Absa Premiership

PSL announces play-off fixtures

2016-05-09 12:33
PSL (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - As the Premiership and National First Division seasons come to an end, three teams will prepare to battle it out in a mini-league play-off.

The team that finishes in 15th spot in the Premiership will be drawn with two sides who finished second and third respectively in the second-tier of South African football.

Three sides will face each other twice in a home and away fixtures to decide who will be playing top-flight football next season joining the eventual winners of the NFD.

The round of fixtures draw took place on Monday morning at the Premier Soccer League head-quarters  and as the leagues positions remain still up for grabs, the fixtures will be labled as follows:

Club 1: Premiership position 15

Club 2: NFD position 2

Club 3: NFD position 3


May 25: NFD position 3 v NFD position 2

May 29: Premiership position 15 v NFD position 3

June 11: NFD position 2 v Premiership position 15

June 15: NFD position 2 v NFD position 3

June 16: NFD position 3 v Premiership position 15

June 22: Premiership 15 vs NFD position 2

Read more on:    psl  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Friday, 19 January 2018
Wits v Bloemfontein Celtic, Bidvest Stadium 20:00
Saturday, 20 January 2018
Cape Town City FC v Ajax Cape Town, Cape Town Stadium 15:30
Free State Stars v Maritzburg United, Goble Park 15:30
Mamelodi Sundowns v Platinum Stars, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 18:00
AmaZulu FC v SuperSport United, King Zwelithini Stadium 20:15
Orlando Pirates v Polokwane City, Orlando Stadium 20:15
Sunday, 21 January 2018
Chippa United v Golden Arrows, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 15:30
Baroka FC v Kaizer Chiefs, Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Do you think SAFA made the right choice in appointing Stuart Baxter as head coach of Bafana Bafana?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.