Absa Premiership

Promotion Play-off dates confirmed

2017-05-30 08:44
Soccer ball (Getty Images)

Cape Town - With the Premiership and National First Division seasons having concluded, the Premier Soccer League (PSL) has now confirmed the 2016/17 Promotion Play-off venues, dates and kick-off times.

The Promotion Play-off matches will kick-off on Wednesday, 31 May 2017 when Stellenbosch FC (NFD 3rd place) welcome Baroka FC (Premier Division 15th place) to the Athlone Stadium. Kick-off is at 15:00.

The second fixture of the mini-league play-offs will see Black Leopards (2nd place NFD) hosting Stellenbosch FC on Saturday, June 3 at the Thohoyandou Stadium.

Kick-off is at 15:00.

Baroka FC will then get a chance to play hosts when they entertain Black Leopards at Peter Mokaba stadium on Wednesday, June 2017 (15:00 kick-off).

Three days later, ‘Bakgaga Ba Ga-Mphahlele’ will once again be at home when they host Stellenbosch FC at the same venue, with the match scheduled for 15:00 kick-off.

On Wednesday, 14 June 2017 the Athlone stadium will be the venue for the penultimate match of the competition when Stellenbosch take on Black Leopards. Kick-off is at 19:30.

The last fixture of the 2016/17 Promotion Play-off will take place at the Thohoyandou Stadium when Black Leopards and Baroka FC do battle on Saturday, June 7 (15:00).


May 31 - Stellenbosch FC v Baroka FC - Athlone Stadium (15:00)

June 3 - Black Leopards v Stellenbosch FC- Thohoyandou Stadium (15:00)

June 7 - Baroka FC v Black Leopards - Peter Mokaba Stadium (15:00)

June 10 - Baroka FC v Stellenbosch FC - Peter Mokaba Stadium (15:00)

June 14 - Stellenbosch FC v Black Leopards - Athlone Stadium (19:30)

June 27 - Black Leopards v Baroka FC - Thohoyandou Stadium (15:00)


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Saturday, 04 April 2020
Stellenbosch v Cape Town City, Cape Town Stadium 15:00
Orlando Pirates v Baroka FC, Orlando Stadium 15:00
Chippa United v Highlands Park, Sisa Dukashe Stadium 15:00
SuperSport United v Polokwane City, Lucas Moripe Stadium 18:00
Wits v AmaZulu, Bidvest Stadium 20:15
Maritzburg United v Mamelodi Sundowns, Harry Gwala Stadium 20:15
Sunday, 05 April 2020
Bloemfontein Celtic v Kaizer Chiefs, Dr Molemela Stadium 15:00
Golden Arrows v Black Leopards, Sugar Ray Xulu Stadium 15:00
Wednesday, 08 April 2020
Cape Town City v Mamelodi Sundowns, Cape Town Stadium 19:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 Absa Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.