Absa Premiership

Preview: Orlando Pirates v SuperSport

2016-05-28 09:45
Mpho Makola (TEAMtalk)

Cape Town - SuperSport United and Orlando Pirates will battle for the 2016 Nedbank Cup when they meet in the final at Peter Mokaba Stadium in Polokwane on May 28.


SuperSport advanced into the final of the Nedbank Cup by overcoming Moroka Swallows (1-0 away), University of Pretoria (3-3 away, won 4-2 on penalties), Black Aces (2-1 home) and Baroka FC (2-0 home). Pirates advanced into the final thanks to four successive wins over fellow top flight teams: 2-0 at home to Kaizer Chiefs, 3-1 away to Jomo Cosmos, 2-0 away to Mamelodi Sundowns and 4-2 away to Free State Stars.

The teams faced off at Orlando Stadium in their final league match of the 2015/16 season this past weekend and played to a 2-2 draw. Pirates twice went ahead through goals from Sifiso Myeni and Mpho Makola, but United hit back to claim a share of the spoils with strikes from Bradley Grobler and Denwin Farmer.


SuperSport and Pirates have been regular combatants in cup competitions, especially in recent years. This will be the eighth cup clash between the teams in just the past four seasons, and 18th overall. The Buccaneers have generally dominated the rivalry, claiming nine outrights wins (plus two by penalties) compared to four for Matsatsantsa (plus two by penalties). The teams’ most recent knockout meeting was in the Nedbank Cup last year: SuperSport won 1-0 thanks to a goal from striker Jeremy Brockie.

Overall, the United and Bucs have clashed in 68 matches across all competitions since 1990. The Soweto side has claimed 31 wins compared to 20 for the Tshwane club, while 17 matches have been drawn. The teams have met twice this season, with last weekend’s match at Orlando Stadium adding to a 1-0 win for SuperSport in the league way back in August at the start of the 2015/16 campaign.


SuperSport have won the Nedbank Cup three times, with their most recent triumph occurring in 2012 (adding to triumphs in 1999 and 2005) when they beat local rivals Mamelodi Sundowns in the final. Matsatsantsa reached the semifinals of last season’s Nedbank Cup before they were beaten 2-1 by eventual runners-up Ajax Cape Town.

Pirates have won the Nedbank Cup eight times, and were champions as recently as 2014. They were also runners-up in 1971, 1976, 1977, 1981, 1984, 1998 and 2006. Last season the Buccaneers were knocked out in the last 16, going down 1-0 at the hands of SuperSport United.

Kick-off is at 15:00.

Read more on:    orlando pirates  |  supersport united  |  psl  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Wednesday, 13 December 2017
Free State Stars v SuperSport United, Goble Park 19:30
Mamelodi Sundowns v Maritzburg United, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 19:30
Friday, 15 December 2017
Cape Town City FC v AmaZulu FC, Cape Town Stadium 20:00
Saturday, 16 December 2017
Mamelodi Sundowns v Bloemfontein Celtic, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 15:30
Chippa United v Polokwane City, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 15:30
Free State Stars v Orlando Pirates, Goble Park 18:00
Wits v Platinum Stars, Bidvest Stadium 20:15
Kaizer Chiefs v Ajax Cape Town, Moses Mabhida Stadium 20:15
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Do you think SAFA made the right choice in appointing Stuart Baxter as head coach of Bafana Bafana?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.