Absa Premiership

Pirates announce 2019/20 squad, Khuzwayo notably omitted

2019-07-30 13:39
Orlando Pirates
Orlando Pirates (Supplied)

Cape Town - Soweto giants Orlando Pirates confirmed their 31-man first-team squad numbers for the 2019/20 season with no mention of goalkeeper Brilliant Khuzwayo as he was notably omitted from the list.

According to the club’s official website, with every new season, players vacate, and new players come into the team and with that numbers are made available or re-allocated.

While there is no science to the allocation of numbers, to some players the numbers are chosen based on position, while others superstitiously choose what they deem to be their lucky numbers.

Ntsikelelo Nyauza has moved from no. 2 to no. 5 while defensive midfielder Ben Motshwari has downgraded from the high numbers, moving down to no. 6.

As for the new acquisitions: Gabadinho Mhango has been allocated no. 7; Siphesihle Ndlovu no. 8; Fortune Makaringe no. 15; Bongani Sam no. 19; Kabelo Dlamini no. 8; and Tshegofatso Mabasa no. 16.


Goalkeepers: 1 Joris Delle; 30 Wayne Sandilands; 40 Siyabonga Mpontshane

Defenders: 2 Asavela Mbekile; 4 Happy Jele; 5 Ntsikelelo Nyauza; 44 Abel Mabaso; 19 Bongani Sam; 23 Innocent Maela; 24 Tebogo Tlolane; 27 Alfred Ndengane; 28 Mthokozisi Dube; 33 Justice Chabalala; 35 Brian Hlongwa

Midfielders: 3 Thembinkosi Lorch; 6 Ben Motshwari; 8 Siphesihle Ndlovu; 11 Luvuyo Memela; 14 Musa Nyatama; 15 Fortune Makaringe; 18 Kabelo Dlamini; 20 Xola Mlambo; 29 Paseka Mako; 32 Linda Mntambo; 45 Vincent Pule

Strikers: 7 Gabadinho Mhango; 12 Justin Shonga; 16 Tshegofatsho Mabasa 17 Augustine Mulenga; 25 Zakhele Lepasa; 34 Thabiso Monyane

Read more on:    orlando pirates  |  psl  |  brilliant khuzwayo  |  soccer


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Friday, 24 January 2020
Cape Town City v Black Leopards, Cape Town Stadium 20:00
SuperSport United v Chippa United, Lucas Moripe Stadium 20:00
Saturday, 25 January 2020
Stellenbosch v Polokwane City, Cape Town Stadium 15:30
Golden Arrows v Kaizer Chiefs, Moses Mabhida Stadium 15:30
Orlando Pirates v AmaZulu, Orlando Stadium 18:00
Sunday, 26 January 2020
Baroka FC v Maritzburg United, Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 Absa Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.