Absa Premiership

Four PSL players nominated for CAF awards

2017-11-02 09:47
Percy Tau.(Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Percy Tau, Denis Onyango, Jeremy Brockie and Dean Furman have been shortlisted for the 2017 CAF Player of the Year award.

Although Sundowns crashed out at the quarter-final stage in the CAF Champions League, Tau and Onyango have been named among the 30 finalists for the award.

The pair are also up for the CAF Player of the Year - Based in Africa award, alongside SuperSport United duo Dean Furman and Jeremy Brockie. 

Onyango is in line for a second consecutive award after claiming the CAF Player of the Year - Based in Africa accolade in 2016.

Brockie is likely to win the top goal-scorer's award in the CAF Confederation Cup. With the final between Matsatsantsa and TP Mazembe still to come, the New Zealand international already has 10 goals, four more than the closest challengers. 

The awards ceremony takes place on January 4, 2018 in Accra, Ghana, with the winners to be decided by votes from head coaches/technical directors of the national associations affiliated to CAF, members of the CAF Technical and Development Committee, and a panel of media experts.


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Wednesday, 24 April 2019
Free State Stars v Baroka FC, Goble Park 18:00
Wits v Black Leopards, Bidvest Stadium 19:30
Maritzburg United v Orlando Pirates, Harry Gwala Stadium 19:30
AmaZulu v SuperSport United, King Zwelithini Stadium 19:30
Polokwane City v Bloemfontein Celtic, Old Peter Mokaba Stadium 19:30
Friday, 26 April 2019
Chippa United v Cape Town City, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 20:00
Saturday, 27 April 2019
Highlands Park v Polokwane City, Makhulong Stadium 15:00
Black Leopards v Maritzburg United, Thohoyandou Stadium 15:00
SuperSport United v Wits, Lucas Moripe Stadium 18:00
Bloemfontein Celtic v Kaizer Chiefs, Peter Mokaba Stadium 20:15
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

After slow starts to their respective 2018/19 Absa Premiership campaigns, who will finish the season ranked higher?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.