Absa Premiership

Onyango, Brockie up for CAF Awards

2017-11-28 12:28
Denis Onyango (TEAMtalk)

Cape Town - Mamelodi Sundowns goalkeeper Denis Onyango is contention to win the CAF Player of the Year (Based in Africa) award for the second year running. 

Onyango claimed the accolade in 2016 (beating team-mate Khama Billiat and Zambian Rainford Kalaba) after helping Sundowns win the CAF Champions League, although in 2016 they were eliminated at the quarter-final stage by Wydad Casablanca, who went on to win the competition.

Onyango also excelled for the Ugandan national team and is the only player from the PSL to be nominated in the main category - the African Player of the Year award. He'll face stiff competition though from the likes of Victor Moses, Sadio Mane, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Mohamed Salah amongst others. 

Also nominated for the 2017 Player of the Year (Based in Africa) award is SuperSport United striker Jeremy Brockie. 

The New Zealand international knocked in an impressive 10 goals, but was not able to score in the two-legged final as Matsatsantsa lost 2-1 on aggregate to TP Mazembe. 

SuperSport are also on the short-list for the Club of the Year award while Banyana Banyana are in contention for the Women's Team of the Year.

Cameroon, Nigeria and Egypt will battle it out for the National Team of the Year award.

Junior South African national team marksman Luther Singh was nominated for the CAF Youth Player of the Year.

African Player of the Year nominees:

Bertrand Traore (Burkina Faso and Olympique Lyon) 
Denis Onyango (Uganda and Mamelodi Sundowns) 

Karim El Ahmadi (Morocco and Feyenoord) 
Keita Balde (Senegal and Monaco) 
Mohamed Salah (Egypt and Liverpool)
Naby Keita (Guinea and RB Leipzig) 
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon and Borussia Dortmund)
Sadio Mane (Senegal and Liverpool) 
Victor Moses (Nigeria and Chelsea) 
Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon and Porto) 
Yacine Brahimi (Algeria and Porto)

Player of the Year (Based in Africa) nominees:

Achraf Bencharki (Morocco and Wydad Athletic Club) 
Ahmed Fathi (Egypt and Al Ahly)
Ali Maaloul (Tunisia and Al Ahly) 
Aristide Bance (Burkina Faso and El Masry)
Ben Malango (DR Congo and TP Mazembe) 
Denis Onyango (Uganda and Mamelodi Sundowns)
Jeremy Brockie (New Zealand and Supersport) 

Junior Ajayi (Nigeria and Al Ahly)
Mohamed Ounnajem (Morocco and Wydad Athletic Club)
Taha Yassine Khenisssi (Tunisia and Esperance)


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Friday, 19 January 2018
Wits v Bloemfontein Celtic, Bidvest Stadium 20:00
Saturday, 20 January 2018
Cape Town City FC v Ajax Cape Town, Cape Town Stadium 15:30
Free State Stars v Maritzburg United, Goble Park 15:30
Mamelodi Sundowns v Platinum Stars, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 18:00
AmaZulu FC v SuperSport United, King Zwelithini Stadium 20:15
Orlando Pirates v Polokwane City, Orlando Stadium 20:15
Sunday, 21 January 2018
Chippa United v Golden Arrows, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 15:30
Baroka FC v Kaizer Chiefs, Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Do you think SAFA made the right choice in appointing Stuart Baxter as head coach of Bafana Bafana?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.