Absa Premiership

Nodada awarded CT City's Player of the Season

2018-05-14 13:48
Thabo Nodada (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Cape Town City named midfielder Thabo Nodada as Player of the Season while Robyn Johannes claimed the Players' Player of the Season at the club's awards ceremony evening.

City enjoyed a productive 2017/18 campaign under coach Benni McCarthy to finish fifth, and were also unfortunate to lose in the final of the MTN8 to SuperSport United.

The Citizens brought the curtain down on a long Premiership season with a 1-0 defeat to AmaZulu last Sunday in Durban, with Mbongeni Gumede getting the only goal of the contest.

Nonetheless, other players were honoured for their efforts throughout the campaign as speedster and attacking midfielder Craig Martin won the Most Improved Player gong.

In addition, the Chairman's award which was chosen by boss John Comitis was handed to veteran defender Vincent Kobola.

Meanwhile, the Citizens team award went to another veteran in former Bafana Bafana playmaker Teko Modise, who played his part in the relative success with some fine performances.

Read more on:    cape town city  |  psl  |  soccer


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Tuesday, 26 November 2019
Mamelodi Sundowns v AmaZulu, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 19:30
Highlands Park v Wits, Makhulong Stadium 19:30
Orlando Pirates v Polokwane City, Orlando Stadium 19:30
Wednesday, 27 November 2019
Stellenbosch v Kaizer Chiefs, Cape Town Stadium 19:30
Bloemfontein Celtic v Cape Town City, Dr Molemela Stadium 19:30
Maritzburg United v SuperSport United, Harry Gwala Stadium 19:30
Chippa United v Black Leopards, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 19:30
Baroka FC v Golden Arrows, Peter Mokaba Stadium 19:30
Saturday, 30 November 2019
Polokwane City v Bloemfontein Celtic, Old Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:30
Cape Town City v Highlands Park, Cape Town Stadium 18:00
Black Leopards v Golden Arrows, Thohoyandou Stadium 18:00
SuperSport United v Stellenbosch, Lucas Moripe Stadium 20:15
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 Absa Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.