Absa Premiership

NFD clubs advance to Nedbank Cup last 32

2016-12-15 13:58
Nedbank Cup trophy (Supplied)

Cape Town - The eight National First Division (NFD) clubs that will participate in next year’s Nedbank Cup last round of 32 stage have been confirmed.

The last club to book its place was Jomo Cosmos yesterday following their 4-0 victory against Magesi FC in the NFD Qualification Competition fixture at the Old Peter Mokaba Stadium in Polokwane.

The eight clubs are: Cape Town All Stars, Amazulu, FC Cape Town, Mbombela United, Witbank Spurs, Royal Eagles, Jomo Cosmos and Stellenbosch FC.

The NFD clubs will join eight other clubs from the SAFA structure and 16 clubs from the Premier Division in the last 32s. The draw for the Nedbank Cup last round of 32 will be conducted early next year.

NFD Qualification Competition Results:

Stellenbosch United 1-0 Thanda Royal Zulu

University of Pretoria 1-2 Witbank Spurs

FC Cape Town 4-3 Black Leopards

Mbombela United 2-1 Real Kings

Cape Town All Stars 1-1 Mthatha Bucks (Cape Town All Stars win 4-1 on penalties)

Santos 1-1 Amazulu (Amazulu win 4-3 on penalties)

Royal Eagles 3-2 Milano United

Read more on:    nedbank cup  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Friday, 19 January 2018
Wits v Bloemfontein Celtic, Bidvest Stadium 20:00
Saturday, 20 January 2018
Cape Town City FC v Ajax Cape Town, Cape Town Stadium 15:30
Free State Stars v Maritzburg United, Goble Park 15:30
Mamelodi Sundowns v Platinum Stars, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 18:00
AmaZulu FC v SuperSport United, King Zwelithini Stadium 20:15
Orlando Pirates v Polokwane City, Orlando Stadium 20:15
Sunday, 21 January 2018
Chippa United v Golden Arrows, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 15:30
Baroka FC v Kaizer Chiefs, Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Do you think SAFA made the right choice in appointing Stuart Baxter as head coach of Bafana Bafana?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.