Absa Premiership

Moses Mabhida gets TKO final

2015-11-23 12:19
Moses Mabhida (Gallo)

Cape Town -  Durban’s Moses Mabhida Stadium has been confirmed as the venue that will host the 2015/16 Telkom Knockout final between Kaizer Chiefs and Mamelodi Sundowns.

This was announced following a PSL Organising Committee meeting on Monday morning. The Telkom Knockout final will be played on Wednesday, December 16.

The last time the Moses Mabhida Stadium hosted the Telkom Knockout final was back in December 2012/13.

"As the League, we are delighted to take this year’s TKO final to the Moses Mabhida Stadium," PSL Acting Chief Executive, Mato Madlala said.

"We took a lot of things into consideration before taking this decision and amongst those, we know that we always get support from the people in that area.

"We are also expecting a lot of people from other provinces to travel to Durban to watch the final. We thank our partners, Telkom for their support."

Telkom’s Braam Wessels added: "As we draw near to the end of this year’s Telkom Knockout, we would like to thank the PSL, clubs and our great supporters for making the 10th edition of the Telkom Knockout one of the best editions thus far.

"Over the past two months, we have seen how Telkom has lived up to its commitment of connecting people through football.

"We are looking forward to taking the final to Durban where all the holiday festivities will be and therefore urge all supporters to come out in their numbers as we stage the grand finale of Unlimited Celebration," said Wessels.

Tickets for the final will go on sale on Tuesday.

The time of kick-off is yet to be announced.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Tuesday, 19 December 2017
Mamelodi Sundowns v Cape Town City FC, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 19:30
Wednesday, 20 December 2017
Bloemfontein Celtic v SuperSport United, Dr Molemela Stadium 19:30
Friday, 05 January 2018
Wits v Free State Stars, Bidvest Stadium 20:00
Ajax Cape Town v Maritzburg United, Cape Town Stadium 20:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Do you think SAFA made the right choice in appointing Stuart Baxter as head coach of Bafana Bafana?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.