Absa Premiership

Manyama wins golden boot

2017-05-29 07:16
Lebogang Manyama (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Cape Town City captain Lebogang Manyama has won the race for the Lesley Manyathela Golden Boot award for the 2016/17 season.

The accolade for the South African Premiership top scorer marks of an excellent season collectively and individually for the 26-year-old. 

In the first season since formation, the Citizens have performed well beyond expectations with Manyama leading them to the Telkom Knock Out trophy and a third place finish in the league.

With 13 goals and two assists in 29 games, the Bafana Bafana international pipped Orlando Pirates striker Tendai Ndoro by a solitary strike. 

Ndoro raced into the lead for the award with 11 goals in the first 12 games of the season, but failed to replicate the form in the second-half of the campaign.

Bidvest Wits forward Gabadinho Mhango and Polokwane City's Rodney Ramagalela recorded nine goals each, as the closest rivals, with Manyama and Ndoro the only players to reach doubles figures.

The Ajax Cape Town academy graduate has already picked up the player of the season award at City and is favorite to walk away with the overall PSL player of the season.


13 - Lebogang Manyama (Cape Town City FC)

12 - Tendai Ndoro (Orlando Pirates)

9 - Gabadinho Mhango (Bidvest Wits), Rodney Ramagalela (Polokwane City)

8 - Jeremy Brockie (SuperSport United), Khama Billiat (Mamelodi Sundowns), Rhulani Manzini (Chippa United), Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Read more on:    cape town city  |  psl  |  lebogang manyama  |  soccer


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Friday, 10 April 2020
Maritzburg United v Wits, Harry Gwala Stadium 20:00
Saturday, 11 April 2020
Polokwane City v Highlands Park, Old Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:00
Black Leopards v SuperSport United, Thohoyandou Stadium 15:00
Mamelodi Sundowns v Golden Arrows, Lucas Moripe Stadium 18:00
AmaZulu v Bloemfontein Celtic, King Zwelithini Stadium 20:15
Sunday, 12 April 2020
Kaizer Chiefs v Stellenbosch, Moses Mabhida Stadium 15:00
Baroka FC v Chippa United, Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 Absa Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.