Absa Premiership

Mamelodi Sundowns crowned Absa Premiership champions

2018-04-28 16:53
Percy Tau and Pitso Mosimane (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Mamelodi Sundowns have been crowned 2017/18 Absa Premiership champions after beating Ajax Cape Town 3-1 at the Lucas Moripe Stadium on Saturday.

Zimbabwean Khama Billiat cancelled out an early strike by Urban Warriors captain Musa Lebusa before goals by Ricardo Nascimento and Sibusiso Vilakazi ensured the three points needed for Masandawana to clinch the title.

Pitso Mosimane’s men now hold an unassailable seven point advantage over second-placed Orlando Pirates – who lost 1-0 to Cape Town City - with one round of fixtures remaining.

"We've got to thank the supporters," Mosimane said after the final whistle.

"They're singing at the top of their voice, thanks to the management, the board, the president of the team and his family without them we wouldn't be where we are.

"Thanks to the players and their families who have been patient with us because we are five out of seven days in a hotel without a complaint and the boys have stuck to it.

"We've been doing this for not one day, two years but for five years and the champions league is on again next year.

"Not forgetting my family, my wife and children for being patient with us...we've been through a lot as a family, Mosimane added.

A smiling Mosimane then hit out at his detractors who he claimed had a campaign against him and his team.

"I know not everyone is happy, but it's okay. I waited for this day. You know what I'm talking about. This is the day...many people are not happy.

"My fans are happy but people are sulking...but Masandawana are five years in a row in the Champions League," he concluded.


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Saturday, 21 September 2019
Stellenbosch v Black Leopards, Cape Town Stadium 15:00
Chippa United v Bloemfontein Celtic, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 15:00
Polokwane City v SuperSport United, Old Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:00
Mamelodi Sundowns v Maritzburg United, Lucas Moripe Stadium 18:00
Wits v Orlando Pirates, Moses Mabhida Stadium 20:15
Sunday, 22 September 2019
Cape Town City v Golden Arrows, Cape Town Stadium 15:00
Baroka FC v Highlands Park, Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:00
Tuesday, 24 September 2019
AmaZulu v Kaizer Chiefs, King Zwelithini Stadium 15:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 Absa Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.