Absa Premiership

Limpopo trio maintain PSL status

2019-05-14 10:15
Mwape Musonda
Mwape Musonda (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Limpopo-based Premier Soccer League (PSL) teams Black Leopards, Baroka FC and Polokwane City will once again all compete in the 2019/20 Absa Premiership season.

On the final match-day of the 2018/19 season last Saturday, relegation-threatened Lidoda Duvha confirmed their safety by defeating Cape Town City 1-0 in an encounter played at the Thohoyandou Stadium.

Baroka held Maritzburg United to a 1-1 stalemate at the Old Peter Mokaba Stadium which was enough to keep them in the lucrative top flight for a fourth consecutive season.

Polokwane City had a stellar season, finishing in fifth place and confirming the spot in next season's MTN8 in what was their second top eight finish in three seasons.

Leopards finished 13th on the log while Baroka finished 14th.

Limpopo Premier Chupu Stanley Mathabatha heaped praise on the trio for raising the provincial sporting flag.

"It is a pleasure to realise that we will still be represented within the Premier Soccer League," Mathabatha said.

The Limpopo Province stands a chance of fielding four teams in the PSL next season, with Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila (TTM) heading for the PSL/National First Division (NFD) relegation/promotion playoffs against two KwaZulu-Natal outfits, Royal Eagles and Maritzburg United.

Mathabatha has wished Vhadau vha Damani well ahead of the playoffs which start this week.

"I call upon all Limpopo people to support our boys from Tshakhuma as they mount this hill," he said.

"I have no doubt Limpopo will have four soccer teams in the PSL come next season.

"And that means more entertainment, more excitement and more businesses for our SMMEs,” he concluded.

As things stand, the Limpopo Province are guaranteed a total of 45 league matches and should TTM win the relegation/promotion playoffs, the province will host a total of 60 league games which is good for the economy of the province as tourism and small businesses would benefit from this.

TTM will commence their playoff campaign against Royal Eagles at the Chatsworth Stadium in Durban on Wednesday.

Kick-off is scheduled for 15:00.

Full 2018/19 promotion-relegation playoff fixtures:


Royal Eagles vs Tshakhuma FC, Chatsworth Stadium - 15:00 


Maritzburg United vs Royal Eagles, Harry Gwala Stadium - 15h00


Tshakhuma FC vs Maritzburg United, Thohoyandou Stadium - 15:00


Tshakhuma FC vs Royal Eagles, Thohoyandou Stadium - 15:00


Royal Eagles vs Maritzburg United, Chatsworth Stadium - 15:00


Maritzburg United vs Tshakhuma FC, Harry Gwala Stadium - 15:00

Read more on:    baroka  |  polokwane city  |  black leopards  |  psl  |  soccer


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Wednesday, 19 February 2020
Wits v Highlands Park, Bidvest Stadium 19:30
Mamelodi Sundowns v Bloemfontein Celtic, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 19:30
Friday, 28 February 2020
Maritzburg United v Stellenbosch, Harry Gwala Stadium 20:00
Saturday, 29 February 2020
Orlando Pirates v Kaizer Chiefs, FNB Stadium 15:30
Chippa United v AmaZulu, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 15:30
Golden Arrows v Highlands Park, Sugar Ray Xulu Stadium 15:30
SuperSport United v Wits, Mbombela Stadium 20:15
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

And the 2019/20 Absa Premiership champions will be ... ?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.